Movie reviews of Eric Hillis

These are all the movies and series that Eric has reviewed. Read more at: The Movie Waffler.

Number of movie reviews: 1472 / 1472

Options

Insyriated offers an intriguing setup for a chamber drama, but it quickly veers into over the top melodrama that too often relies on character behaviour that's difficult to swallow. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2017-08-14

2017

What should have been a high concept horror movie is instead a drab detective story, one which can't decide if it wants us to root for Holmes or Moriarty. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2017-08-13

2017

Most of us would cross the street to avoid men like this in real life, but as portrayed by Vaughan-Lawlor and Ward, it's difficult not to warm to the pair. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2017-08-12

2017

Medina's drab film is occasionally enlivened by the music hall interludes, which are as primitive and bawdy as you would expect, but Cooke really throws herself into them, displaying a side of the young star we haven't seen before. Bored with The Limehouse Golem, I begin to daydream how great a remake of My Fair Lady with Nighy and Cooke could be. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2017-08-11

2017

Cruise's shit-eating grin and boundless enthusiasm are vital in helping us believe this man could get away with so much wrongdoing, thanks to his not-so-innocent charm. It's a chance to exercise both his dramatic and comic chops, and Cruise seizes it with the amount of enthusiasm you would expect from this workaholic. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2017-08-10

2017

Somehow Sheridan manages to make this material feel fresh, and he even subverts some of our expectations regarding this genre. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2017-08-09

2017

As McConaughey might say, it's not quite awful, awful, awful, but neither is it quite alright, alright, alright. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2017-08-08

2017

Like any addictive force, regardless of your experience with The Untamed, it's a film you may find yourself wishing to revisit. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2017-08-07

2017

With Soderbergh's Ocean's Eleven remake it felt like we were watching a bunch of friends having fun making a movie, and that enthusiasm somewhat translated to the audience. With Logan Lucky you similarly get the sense that everyone involved was having a blast, but this one's no fun for the viewer. Review

3.0

List

Rate

2017-08-06

2017

If you're neither a fan of boxing or the Rocky series, The Bleeder will likely play as a second-rate biopic. Pugilism devotees however will find it an easy-going tribute to a forgotten figure of the sport, while for Rocky buffs it will prove an insightful piece of background detail. Watch out for Morgan Spector's amusing turn as the Italian Stallion himself. The Bleeder won't be remembered as the greatest of boxing movies, but i... Review

7.0

List

Rate

2017-08-05

2017

Give Theron a decent script and a character that's something more than a violent mannequin, and we might have a convincing substitute. Atomic Blonde has some dazzling highlights, but it needs to take better care of its roots. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2017-08-04

2017

Planetarium shares some of the same themes and elements as the superior Grand Central - love triangles; an unseen menace lingering in the distance; a fascination with the workings of a particular industry - but here they're rendered in the most lacklustre and uncompelling of fashion. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2017-08-03

2017

Sadly, the film wastes an opportunity to provide a much needed role model, with Janice nothing more than an agency-free punching bag for the film's various ghouls and ghosts. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2017-08-02

2017

Ultimately, The Ghoul is a sympathetic and understanding insight into depression. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2017-08-01

2017

America's complex racial issues deserve far better treatment than this, but as a fan of exploitation cinema, I'd be lying if I claimed Detroit wasn't one of the most impactful experiences I've had in a cinema in 2017. I can separate a badly rendered film from a well made movie. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2017-07-13

2017

If you're wondering why I haven't made mention of the film's plot, it's because I have no idea what any of this is about. Review

1.0

List

Rate

2017-07-12

2017

A Ghost Story's reluctance to commit to its fascinating premise results in one of the great missed opportunities in recent cinema. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2017-07-11

2017

As exercises in self-flagellation go, Land of Mine is little more than a technically well made piece of victim blaming propaganda. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2017-07-10

2017

Under Nolan's stewardship, Dunkirk plays out as a traumatic 100 minute experience, and a more stressful watch you're unlikely to find in mainstream cinema. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2017-07-09

2017

Sometimes truth is more dramatic than fiction, and I can't help but wish Kruithof had given us a straight adaptation of this murky chapter of French political history rather than his fictionalised version. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2017-07-08

2017

Roberts finds enough ways to increase the stakes of his limited scenario without ever straying into laughably unrealistic territory, and his work here is a big step up from the second rate genre movies he made in his native England and his atrocious American debut The Other Side of the Door. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2017-07-07

2017

Thankfully, Nanjiani is such an affable and genuinely amusing presence that his charm goes a long way to papering over this considerable crack. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2017-07-06

2017

24x36 isn't quite a movie about movie posters, as its subtitle suggests, but rather a movie about movie poster appreciation, an approach most viewers will find less interesting than a wider look at the art form. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2017-07-05

2017

For those who appreciate pure cinema, stories told through pictures rather than words, War is a rare opportunity to revel in the previously untapped possibilities of the modern blockbuster format. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2017-07-04

2017

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English