Movie reviews of Hamish Calvert

These are all the movies and series that Hamish has reviewed. Read more at: HCMovieReviews.

Similarity: unknown

Number of movie reviews: 753 / 753

Options

Poster for It Comes at Night

It Comes at Night

8.5

2017, Drama, Horror, Suspense, Mystery

With great performances across the whole cast this element is enhanced brilliantly from script to screen.

2017.07.09

Poster for Neruda

Neruda

6.0

2016, Drama

Isn’t the fastest paced chase film you’ll see and whilst the poetic & literary themes present weren’t for me there will be many viewers who enjoy this slant.

2017.07.08

Poster for War for the Planet of the Apes

War for the Planet of the Apes

9.0

2017, Drama, Science fiction, War

An example of some of the finest film-making & story-telling present in cinema today.

2017.07.07

Poster for Spider-Man: Homecoming

Spider-Man: Homecoming

8.0

2017, Adventure, Drama, Action, Comedy, Science fiction

The action, heart and comedy all hit too which will surely make this an MCU favourite for many.

2017.07.05

Poster for Okja

Okja

8.0

2017, Adventure, Fantasy, Drama, Science fiction

Presents such a challenging narrative in an entertaining way...

2017.07.05

Poster for Despicable Me 3

Despicable Me 3

8.0

2017, Animation, Action, Comedy

A great time.

2017.07.03

Poster for Central Intelligence

Central Intelligence

4.0

2016, Action, Comedy, Mystery

More of the same dull, unoriginal buddy cop comedies that we’ve now surely lost count of.

2017.07.02

Poster for Baby Driver

Baby Driver

9.0

2017, Action, Crime

The cast, action, comedy and music all combine in such a natural way thanks to the expertise of Wright.

2017.07.02

Poster for Chef

Chef

7.5

2014, Comedy

Pleasant viewing, it never induces boredom but apart from a couple of scenes it also never really makes you feel much.

2017.07.01

Poster for The House

The House

5.0

2017, Comedy

Thanks to it’s well known and likeable lead performers it’ll do the job for a cheap night at the cinema with a group of mates.

2017.06.30

Poster for Risk

Risk

2.0

2017, Documentary

I wasn’t a fan of the construction of this film with many elements adding to my frustrated lack of engagement.

2017.06.27

Poster for Hampstead

Hampstead

6.0

2017, Comedy, Love

It’s a harmless affair with all the best intentions.

2017.06.26

Poster for The Book of Henry

The Book of Henry

7.0

2017, Drama, Suspense, Crime

Easily enjoyable light entertainment...

2017.06.25

Poster for Transformers: The Last Knight

Transformers: The Last Knight

2.0

2017, Adventure, Action, Suspense, Science fiction

It’s easily the worst ‘Transformers’ film there’s been and not only that it’s taking the crown for worst blockbuster of the year so far as well.

2017.06.23

Poster for Churchill

Churchill

5.0

2017, Drama, Suspense, War

Cox saves the film from being a complete write off.

2017.06.20

Poster for Gifted

Gifted

9.0

2017, Drama, Comedy

There’s equal measures of humour and heart running through the story and you’d be hard pushed not to enjoy such a charming movie.

2017.06.14

Poster for The Mummy

The Mummy

4.0

2017, Adventure, Fantasy, Horror, Action, Suspense

It’s watchable up to a point, almost entirely thanks to its opening, but I can’t envision any rewatches.

2017.06.12

Poster for Berlin Syndrome

Berlin Syndrome

8.0

2017, Drama, Horror, Suspense, Mystery

You’ll gasp and wince at all the right moments and you’ll experience suspense in all the appropriate amounts.

2017.06.12

Poster for The Shack

The Shack

6.0

2017, Fantasy, Drama

The concept is endlessly engaging and the confidence to address the major issues people have with faith is cool.

2017.06.11

Poster for My Cousin Rachel

My Cousin Rachel

6.0

2017, Drama, Love

An adequate period drama mystery.

2017.06.10

Poster for My Life as a Zucchini

My Life as a Zucchini

6.0

2016, Animation, Drama

Whilst I appreciated the animation itself and had plenty of fun with the gags included I couldn’t really engage with the rest...

2017.06.05

Poster for Wonder Woman

Wonder Woman

9.0

2017, Adventure, Fantasy, Action, Science fiction, War

Will no doubt forever be one of, if not the, most triumphant moment for DC’s cinematic universe.

2017.05.31

Poster for Baywatch

Baywatch

6.0

2017, Action, Comedy

The cast work well and there is enough entertainment in the gags and story to hold your attention.

2017.05.30

Poster for The Red Turtle

The Red Turtle

4.0

2016, Fantasy, Animation, Drama, Science fiction

Just wasn’t entertaining enough to sustain my attention.

2017.05.28

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English

Add to...

Go to your lists

Own review...

Review updated

Submit