Movie reviews of Derrick Carter

These are all the movies and series that Derrick has reviewed. Read more at: For the Love of Celluloid.

Similarity: unknown

Number of movie reviews: 1103 / 1103

Options

Poster for Bright

Bright

5.0

2017 | Fantasy | Action | Crime

A strictly apathetic middle-of-the-road experience.

2018.02.17

Poster for Star Wars: The Last Jedi

Star Wars: The Last Jedi

6.7

2017 | Adventure | Fantasy | Action | Science fiction

I thought it was okay…but I expect my Star Wars films to be better than okay.

2018.02.16

Poster for The Shape of Water

The Shape of Water

10

2017 | Fantasy | Drama | Love

If you want to see an out-of-the-ordinary romance that is romantic but not conventional by any means, then dive into this wondrous cinematic oddity.

2018.02.14

Poster for I, Tonya

I, Tonya

10

2017 | Drama

A great film about a not-so-great person.

2018.02.13

Poster for Kingsman: The Golden Circle

Kingsman: The Golden Circle

8.3

2017 | Adventure | Action | Comedy

The laughs are just as plentiful as ever too, because Kingsman still doesn’t take itself seriously in any way, shape, or form.

2018.02.09

Poster for Killing Gunther

Killing Gunther

3.3

2017 | Action | Comedy

Hilarious and there are some big laughs during the first 15 minutes. However, things quickly spiral downhill...

2018.02.09

Poster for The Game

The Game

8.3

1997 | Drama | Suspense | Mystery

As silly and ridiculous as The Game can be, it still remains a damn good thriller that’s worth watching.

2018.02.09

Poster for Ingrid Goes West

Ingrid Goes West

8.3

2017 | Drama | Comedy

A very funny, surprisingly emotional (especially in its ending), and compelling dark drama-comedy.

2018.02.02

Poster for The Last Supper

The Last Supper

7.5

1995 | Drama | Comedy | Suspense | Crime

Likely to entertain viewers from both sides of the political fence, whilst also making a statement about how we need each other to survive.

2018.02.02

Poster for The Disaster Artist

The Disaster Artist

10

2017 | Drama | Comedy | History

Just as genuinely moving as it is hilarious.

2017.12.15

Poster for My Friend Dahmer

My Friend Dahmer

10

2017 | Drama | Horror | Suspense | Crime

This entire film is haunting.

2017.12.15

Poster for Eyes Wide Shut

Eyes Wide Shut

10

1999 | Drama | Mystery

From a narrative standpoint, the ending is unsatisfying in the best possible way...

2017.12.15

Poster for Good Time

Good Time

10

2017 | Drama | Suspense | Crime

Blew me away.

2017.12.08

Poster for The Beguiled

The Beguiled

4.2

2017 | Drama | Western

The Beguiled’s biggest problem is that it’s too simple and, at points, noticeably dull.

2017.12.08

Poster for Glengarry Glen Ross

Glengarry Glen Ross

8.3

1992 | Drama | Crime | Mystery

An example of how great acting and smart dialogue can carry a film all by themselves.

2017.12.08

Poster for Murder on the Orient Express

Murder on the Orient Express

7.5

2017 | Drama | Crime | Mystery

The visuals, and performances from a talented cast make a viewing worthwhile.

2017.12.01

Poster for The Square

The Square

8.3

2017 | Drama

A ballsy piece of art...

2017.12.01

Poster for The Hitman's Bodyguard

The Hitman's Bodyguard

5.8

2017 | Action | Comedy

Generic in terms of its plot and the tone seems to awkwardly shift between exciting/funny to needlessly dark/depressing.

2017.12.01

Poster for Justice League

Justice League

5.0

2017 | Adventure | Fantasy | Action | Science fiction

Should have been great and instead, it just exists.

2017.11.24

Poster for Thor: Ragnarok

Thor: Ragnarok

8.3

2017 | Adventure | Fantasy | Action | Comedy | Science fiction

The hilarious, colorful and spectacle-loaded execution kept me smiling from ear to ear as the entire movie played out.

2017.11.24

Poster for Standoff

Standoff

7.5

2016 | Drama | Suspense

Though this film isn’t top-tier indie fare or near perfect filmmaking, Standoff is very entertaining stuff.

2017.11.24

Poster for The Killing of a Sacred Deer

The Killing of a Sacred Deer

9.1

2017 | Drama | Horror | Suspense

If you are into dark, twisted, psychological horror flicks, then you’ll definitely find something to love here.

2017.11.17

Poster for Batman vs. Two-Face

Batman vs. Two-Face

7.5

2017 | Animation | Action

A noticeable step down from its refreshingly wacky predecessor, it contains goofy fun for those enjoy the sillier side of Batman.

2017.11.17

Poster for S.F.W.

S.F.W.

4.2

1994 | Drama | Comedy

I wouldn’t mind seeing this film remade as a biting satire/dark drama with better talent behind it.

2017.11.17

WHAT IS VEBOLI?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

STAY UP TO DATE?

Read the Veboli blog

Follow Veboli on Twitter

Or on Facebook

Or even LinkedIn

GOT A QUESTION?

Send us a message

English

Add to...

Go to your lists

Own review...

Review updated

Submit

Add to...

Go to your lists

Own review...

Review updated

Submit