Movie reviews of Bob Mann

These are all the movies and series that Bob has reviewed. Read more at: One Mann's Movies.

Number of movie reviews: 754 / 754

Options

It was a survivable experience that managed not to grate too badly on me. However, it still felt like being in a tumble dryer filled with sherbet for 92 minutes. But – hey – there are worse ways to go. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2023-04-13

2023

I found this a really interesting film. It is full of interesting insights into the Islamic religion as well as being a tense political thriller. Too tense for some though! As a piece of cinema, it’s really well made. Tarik Saleh (still persona non-grata in Egypt) has clearly crafted here a very personal film. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2023-04-12

2023

It’s a pretty harmless piece of Netflix pap. I ironed my big pile of shirts to it and it kept me moderately entertained. But definitely in a very non-demanding way. It’ll not last long in my memory. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2023-04-11

2023

As a park-brain-at-the-door action thriller, this was just about watchable in my book. But it was also mentally disposable the moment you finish watching it. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2023-04-09

2023

I wasn’t ever bored by this one, and it had its moments. But The Pope’s Exorcist never quite managed to rise to its potential for me. Its early promise, in setting up the premise, tends to get dissipated in a rather generic Hollywood-horror ending. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2023-04-08

2023

A film of two halves, I was reckoning on a 2* or a 2.5* in the first half hour. But the story does become more interesting as the film progresses. Worth seeing for Watson and Mescal’s acting chops. But not a gripping “must-see” in my book. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2023-04-05

2023

Air

Matt Damon is on top form. This is his best acting performance for me since his Oscar nominated turn in The Martian. Review

10

List

Rate

2023-04-04

2023

This is a really engrossing movie, with two stunning acting performances at its heart. Yes, it takes you through the wringer but at least it spits you out the other end... Review

8.0

List

Rate

2023-04-01

2023

I’m sure I’m in the minority here. But this seemed like an action film stuffed with absurdity. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2023-03-25

2023

Cristiana Dell’Anna does a superb job in the titular role. A final shout out to the child actors Federico Ielapi as Paolo and Liam Campora as Enzo who both do a great job. Review

10

List

Rate

2023-03-23

2023

A film that is distinctly British and featuring a host of great British stars, this is a bit of a curate’s egg. It’s occasionally moving and engaging, but a little too jerky and spasmodic for me to rate it particularly highly. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2023-03-22

2023

It’s certainly an effective little horror film, full of building suspense and gory outcomes. And it’s underpinned by a stellar performance from London-born Mia Goth. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2023-03-21

2023

It’s a glorious feelgood favourite. Lovers of rom-coms will delight in it. But haters of rom-coms will, I think, also suffer it gladly for its infectious and quirky feelgood vibes. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2023-03-20

2023

This sounded good on paper. Classic film noir material. Great cast. Neil Jordan at the helm. But, unfortunately not. A mid-Atlantic offering that convinces noone and dies on its feet due to terrible dialogue. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2023-03-19

2023

If you have young teens in the family, and want a vaguely entertaining park-brain-at-the-door DC family film, then this might fit the bill. But for everyone else… Review

5.0

List

Rate

2023-03-18

2023

I really enjoyed this movie and smiled a lot. And the matinee audience I was with seemed to enjoy it too. It’s light, inoffensive and feelgood. That being said, I don’t think it was particularly memorable as a movie… Review

7.0

List

Rate

2023-03-17

2023

It deserves its success, since it is a really nicely crafted schlock-horror edition in the series. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2023-03-17

2023

65

I thought it was atrocious, and an utter waste of a talented cast. Review

3.0

List

Rate

2023-03-16

2023

Ere are so many themes that are played out in this movie; guilt, blame, nihilism in the face of the horrors of life, what it is to be a parent who loses a child in extraordinary circumstances. It’s a deep movie that keeps you wondering... Review

8.0

List

Rate

2023-03-14

2023

Against all the odds, I really loved this one and had a whale of a time. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2023-03-12

2023

The phenomenal performance of Riseborough really lifts it above the norm for me. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2023-03-11

2023

I absolutely loved this short film. It’s quirky, very funny in places and also has its moments of tension. And the ending is sublimely satisfying. Review

10

List

Rate

2023-03-11

2023

And it’s certainly a quirky piece that is humourously enough done, verging occasionally into the surreal. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2023-03-11

2023

This is a haunting little short film written and directed by Anders Walter. The bleak Greenland scenary is wonderfully captured by cinematographer Rasmus Heise, and there is a melancholic and sonorous soundtrack by Rasmus Walter Hansen that perfectly sets the mood. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2023-03-11

2023

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English