Movie reviews of David Gilleand

These are all the movies and series that David has reviewed. Read more at: Dave Examines Movies.

Number of movie reviews: 156 / 156

Options

I’d say this movie is definitely a fresh comedy as a whole, and it might even be the best romantic comedy I’ve seen all year, but I’m not sure about the comedy side. Review

7.6

List

Rate

2019.07.17

2019

I feel as if this movie ended up being rather traditional in the long run, which is kind of unfortunate, because everything traditional about this movie is due to an area that could’ve easily been improved upon. Review

6.2

List

Rate

2019.07.16

2019

In the end, though, the positives don’t quite outweigh the negatives... Review

4.8

List

Rate

2019.07.16

2019

Personally, I thought a couple scenes here and there were funny, which I had a good time with, but I fully understand where I’d be the only one that experienced that, too. Review

7.3

List

Rate

2019.07.13

2019

It’s their attention to the small things that made this film work so well. Not only was the acting subtly great, but so was the camerawork and editing. Review

8.1

List

Rate

2019.07.12

2019

As I said on my Twitter, I think that, even with the problems it has with typical Christian tropes, the movie still ends up being the best of both worlds because it actually tries to be good. Review

6.9

List

Rate

2019.07.11

2019

Personally, I find this film incredibly inspired and nostalgic. Review

7.8

List

Rate

2019.07.10

2019

A bad movie is still a bad movie, and Hellboy is just one incoherent sequence after the next. Review

4.9

List

Rate

2019.07.09

2019

There’s a ton of action, great characters, funny moments, amazingly-shot sequences, crazy impressive makeup, costume design, and practical effects. Review

8.7

List

Rate

2019.07.08

2019

When looking at the movie as a whole, I can at the very least say the movie surprised me, since it is worthwhile…to a degree. Review

7.5

List

Rate

2019.07.08

2019

Overall, I’d say the movie did what it set out to do with very good acting and an authentic feeling that the world has permanently changed forever, but the fact that the film has no real narrative made a relatively short film feel extremely long and boring... Review

6.9

List

Rate

2019.07.07

2019

The lack of concern about how this movie looked, sounded, and ultimately was acted made everything entirely lackluster, lacking any kind of tension whatsoever, which is the main ingredient in a movie like this. Review

3.6

List

Rate

2019.07.07

2019

It’s beautiful, it’s epic, the characters work really well off each other... Review

9.3

List

Rate

2019.07.05

2019

At the end of the day, yes, the movie is nowhere near perfect, and you’ll never see me saying it is. Review

5.8

List

Rate

2019.07.03

2019

It’s not perfect, but for what it was going for, it did a lot of things right, and for that, I’m glad to have seen it. Review

8.3

List

Rate

2019.07.03

2019

I was engaged, I was laughing, I was having a decent time with it. Review

7.5

List

Rate

2019.07.02

2019

The strengths in this film lie within its structure. The way that it is written and the way that it looks is honestly impressive in the long term. Review

7.5

List

Rate

2019.07.02

2019

The comedy was on point, though, as biased as that is, it felt as though a lot of work and consideration went directly into the dialogue, helping these characters pop in a way that’s both unique and something members of the target audience can connect with. Review

7.8

List

Rate

2019.07.02

2019

It has a lot of issues that it runs into, but the idea that it was going for is not only intact, but still works rather well for a modern audience. Review

7.9

List

Rate

2019.07.01

2019

This is a movie that mostly felt like a big waste of time, and it should’ve been avoided at all costs. Review

3.5

List

Rate

2019.06.28

2019

This is the type of movie that tried probably a little too hard to impliment a lot of ideas found in the source material, turning into something technically a bit sloppy, but is still enjoyable when it comes to the action sequences and sheer beauty in the CGI models of our title character. Review

7.7

List

Rate

2019.06.28

2019

At the end of the day, the high-octane direction Furie takes definitely helped make the film feel tense, and the visuals, cinematography, editing and even the music also helped capture a very specific tone and feel that is certainly welcome, but the story itself lacked enough to keep the score in the 70’s.. Take that as it is. Review

7.6

List

Rate

2019.06.27

2019

The problem with this theme is that we’ve seen it already, all-too-many times, and Little does little to improve on a rapidly exhausting concept. Review

5.9

List

Rate

2019.06.26

2019

It’s certainly not a terrible movie, though. I had a lot of fun with it. Review

7.2

List

Rate

2019.06.26

2019

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English