Movie reviews of Jason King

These are all the movies and series that Jason has reviewed. Read more at: Salty Popcorn.

Number of movie reviews: 149 / 149

Options

I found Come to Daddy a great black comedy horror film starring one of my fave actors. It’s a loopy film and sometimes it goes too far... Review

8.0

List

Rate

2020-05-03

2020

It is a decent B-Grade film but is a pastiche of everything else in a similar genre, it just brings nothing new. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2020-01-28

2020

See this for some top notch film making and some of the greatest performances you will see this year. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2020-01-20

2020

This is the best film Smith has done in quite a few years, this will re-ignite his career and I can’t wait. See this on the biggest and loudest cinema you can find and appreciate the re-birth of a great dynamic duo. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2020-01-19

2020

1917 is more than a technical gimmick of filmmaking achievements, it is a war movie with a lot of heart, pacing that may leave you anxious and performances that will have you sobbing, cheering and possibly praying. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2020-01-16

2020

Buoyancy is, simply, one of my favourite films of 2019. A debut direction that lights up the screen, with cinematography that demands awards, and a debut lead actor I would hand an Oscar to. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2019-12-23

2019

Do not see it for a documentary on the history of Henry V, see it for Chalamet and RPatz, who both give next level performances. Also it isn’t historically accurate (never claims to be), it is based on Shakespeare’s stories, who himself altered facts for entertainment. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2019-12-22

2019

Is it my favourite Star Wars movie? not by a long shot. Is it a wonderful ending to the trilogy of trilogies, for me – YES. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-12-21

2019

If you like fun things – don’t even think about it, just go and see Knives Out. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-11-29

2019

The level of adrenalin I felt just watching it is enough for it to win awards, but the acting and direction gets it over the line in 5th gear, it is top notch. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2019-11-15

2019

Its daddy issues outweighed the joy and endless possibilities of space and it turned itself into a snoozefest valium overdose. Something most critics are loving but I couldn’t wait for it to end. And this is from a sci-fi loving geek! Review

5.0

List

Rate

2019-09-19

2019

This is purely a love letter to the fans... Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-09-12

2019

It is raw, honest and non-gratuitously brutal in its delivery. Australia, like most of the world, has a shameful and horrendously violent past. Review

10

List

Rate

2019-08-25

2019

For me it borders on a masterpiece that takes the viewer so far out of the comfort zone that it’s over two hours of feeling disturbingly uncomfortable. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2019-08-24

2019

If Tarantino dialled it back a bit, gave us a flowing plot, cut the runtime and wasn’t so indulgent Once Upon a Time in Hollywood would hold more mass appeal. Review

8.8

List

Rate

2019-08-18

2019

Danger Close: The Battle of Long Tan provides some great war cinematography and choreography from a little known and horrific battle in the Vietnam War. But that is about it. It is let down by poor character development, a miscast lead and an undeveloped story. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2019-08-10

2019

I do feel there are better Camino movies out there but the Camino is a beautiful journey and these individuals are journeying all for a grief-of-sorts and their stories and history are engaging, even if it does feel a little intrusive at times. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2019-08-04

2019

Don’t expect Oscars but expect HUGE action, lots of humour. Ignore physics, embrace trash-talk and sit back for one of the most fun rides of 2019. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-08-01

2019

Ophelia is beautiful to view with wonderful cinematography, superb score, and a great cast of performers but the story just doesn’t work for me and I would have preferred it stuck a lot closer to the Shakespeare story without altering so much of Bard Canon. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2019-08-01

2019

A film that makes you laugh, cry and constantly misleads you while offering a great message and absurd view on the human condition? There is little not to love in the masterpiece of Bong Joon-Ho’s Parasite. Review

10

List

Rate

2019-07-24

2019

Moments of greatness are bogged down by jarring non-linear narrative, confusing side-tangents, and not enough of the beautiful wild ballet the audience will want to see from a Nureyev film. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2019-07-22

2019

It puts you in the cockpit of the space shuttle with Neil, Buzz and Michael and has footage so well archived it looks like it was shot on HD Digital in the last couple of years. Even know you know the outcome there is as much tension as watching Gravity or Apollo 13. Review

10

List

Rate

2019-07-21

2019

Same same but different and a film I enjoyed nearly as much as the original source material. A technological marvel of next generation CGI with visuals and voice acting I just loved. The Lion King is marvellous. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2019-07-20

2019

A wonderful light hearted sports drama set in the aftermath of WWII The Keeper turned out to be one of my favourite films of 2019 so far. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2019-07-10

2019

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English