Movie reviews of Alex Brannan

These are all the movies and series that Alex has reviewed. Read more at: CineFiles Movie Reviews.

Number of movie reviews: 672 / 672

Options

I enjoyed watching the central figure move across these segments like a lecherous poltergeist, as the performance is wonderfully disquieting. But I left each segment, and the film as a whole, unsatisfied. Review

5.8

List

Rate

2021-08-07

2021

At first, I thought this film was going to try and take a page from John Waters, but it ended up reminding me most of Tom Green’s Freddy Got Fingered. In my mind, this is not a praiseworthy comparison. Review

3.3

List

Rate

2021-08-06

2021

I appreciate the craft involved, but the end result fails to move me. Review

5.8

List

Rate

2021-08-05

2021

The craft on display in Frank & Zed is simply better, and, to the right viewer, this will be a massive delight. Review

6.7

List

Rate

2021-08-04

2021

The low-rent production, put on by a group primarily composed of bus drivers, is a humorous and loving tribute to Scott’s film, and the craft involved in putting the play together is commendable. Review

7.5

List

Rate

2021-08-04

2021

Tiong Bahru Social Club takes a clever and unique approach to its subject matter. It at once skewers the idea that algorithms can impact our comfort and happiness while also acknowledging that most people’s psychological makeup is, to some degree, dictated by our relationship to technology. Consistently funny and occasionally poignant, the film is a highlight of this year’s Fantasia Festival. Review

8.3

List

Rate

2021-07-30

2021

But at the end of the day, this film is light and whimsical in an endearing way. There are humorous moments that make up for the incessant explanation—the payoff on a message into the past regarding a zebra pillbug toy is particularly well-done. It just takes too long for the story to build to something that is engaging. Review

6.7

List

Rate

2021-07-28

2021

Perhaps, in a more focused movie, this would read as a perfect button on a satire of Hollywood’s propensity toward depictions of violence. But in this one, it reads more like if someone punched you in the face and then told you that bullying people is wrong. Review

2.5

List

Rate

2021-07-17

2021

Unfortunately, this makes for a trilogy which trails off rather than escalates to a triumphant close. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-07-16

2021

I don’t think Space Jam: A New Legacy holds up by present day standards, but I also suspect it will be nothing but a blip in LeBron’s legacy. Review

3.3

List

Rate

2021-07-16

2021

In the end, Escape Room: Tournament of Champions bests its predecessor by being a lot more of the same but doing it slightly better. Review

6.7

List

Rate

2021-07-15

2021

Black Widow is a welcome change of pace for Marvel. While the massive movies Infinity War and Endgame have their merit—I find them impressive in scope alone—they contain little time to breathe. Review

5.8

List

Rate

2021-07-11

2021

Fear Street: 1978 still takes a vaguely interesting approach to the overdone concept of the genre pastiche. Review

5.8

List

Rate

2021-07-10

2021

Bleak as this all may sound, No Sudden Move is an entertaining watch. Think of it like Reservoir Dogs with a conscience. Review

9.1

List

Rate

2021-07-03

2021

Back-loaded as the entertainment may be, Fear Street: 1994 is a solid start to a horror trilogy which promises to pastiche decades worth of genre tropes and trappings. Review

7.5

List

Rate

2021-07-02

2021

Mostly, though, The Tomorrow War is a bloated, over-stimulating film. The heavy (and heavily conventional) score thuds under the weight of automatic gunfire, blinding muzzle flashes coloring the screen between bursts of flailing white tentacles. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-07-02

2021

A fun, vibrant film like this might be the medicine the moviegoing audience is searching for right now. Review

7.5

List

Rate

2021-06-03

2021

As the saying goes, variety is the spice of life. These two monster movies are entertaining, but I don’t think I will be itching for a third. Review

6.7

List

Rate

2021-06-03

2021

The allure of a meaty crime narrative at least dresses Spiral up as something with more to offer. And sure, there are buckets of blood, too. Review

6.7

List

Rate

2021-05-13

2021

This film presents a lot of lore, but I am not convinced that it amounts to much. But it certainly sets up a sequel like it amounts to a viable blockbuster franchise. I’m not entirely convinced. Review

5.8

List

Rate

2021-04-23

2021

That said, the concept is better than the execution, as there is only so much visual variety to be had from Nicolas Cage bashing animatronics’ heads open. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-04-10

2021

And pairing the absurdity of the moments with the brutality of the violence makes for a strange tonal soup that I did not particularly enjoy taking in. For what it’s worth, Crowe is pretty perfect in this role. As mindless as the character ends up being in execution, Crowe presents him with a menace that is fairly enthralling to watch. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-04-09

2021

Perhaps this put-on appearance of gloss suits the intent of the film. Review

4.2

List

Rate

2021-04-07

2021

A title card billing the two biggest kaiju-class fighters in the game ought to be more exciting and pulse-pounding than this. Just like Kong does over and over again in this film, this lands with a lackluster thud. Review

4.2

List

Rate

2021-04-01

2021

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English