Movie reviews of Eric Hillis

These are all the movies and series that Eric has reviewed. Read more at: The Movie Waffler.

Number of movie reviews: 2126 / 2126

Options

The more plot twists it throws up, the more we find ourselves scratching our heads at how it consistently contradicts itself and appears to be making up its plot on the fly. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2018-02-15

2018

The contemporary audience for Schrader's work may be a fraction of that of his '70s prime, but his words still affect us, perhaps now more than ever. As long as he keeps penning sermons, we'll keep listening. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2018-02-14

2018

Unlike most thrillers, with their wooden stock characters, the people Shigemori encounters over the course of his investigation are just that - people. No matter how small a role they play, Kore-eda makes every single character feel like a living, breathing person with their own story playing out offscreen... Review

9.0

List

Rate

2018-02-13

2018

Less successful is the mute aspect of Leo's character, which does little but add running time to an already snail-paced narrative, as our hero communicates by writing down notes and asking strangers to speak into voice recognition devices. Review

2.0

List

Rate

2018-02-12

2018

Sweet Country is so blunt in its depiction of racial bigotry that it hammers home just how safe most modern American movies depicting racism play their drama. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2018-02-11

2018

For hardcore devotees of gothic horror, The Lodgers' effectively gloomy aesthetic, period setting, and Vega's tortured, romantically doomed heroine may prove enough of a surface diversion, but for more general horror fans, O'Malley's film fails to bring enough originality to an increasingly crowded genre table. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2018-02-10

2018

The movie's most successful scenes are those shared between the brother/sister dynamic when the past is kept ambiguous, yet I can't help think they would have been far more rewarding if we didn't know from the off why so much anger exists between them. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2018-02-09

2018

Largely devoid of human warmth for long periods, Journeyman too often feels like an exercise in exploitative misery porn, and while its manipulative moments are undoubtedly affecting, there's a sense that Considine is simply pressing emotional buttons for a reaction. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2018-02-08

2018

Fifty Shades Freed goes out of its way to infuriate its target female audience with a neat line in outdated misogyny. Review

1.0

List

Rate

2018-02-07

2018

If Eastwood was trying to push my political and philosophical buttons here, he succeeded. I regularly found myself fuming at some of the Christian fundamentalist, anti-science, anti-authoritarian sentiment on display, but I'd rather a movie made me angry than simply put me to sleep, which is what Eastwood's dramatically inert second half threatened to. Review

3.0

List

Rate

2018-02-06

2018

When Coogler is given a chance to flex his directorial muscles, and when its women take centre stage, Black Panther is a cut above the average superhero movie, but too much of its lengthy running time drags it down to the level of mediocrity the genre is synonymous with, leaving us to endure the sort of half-baked political drama George Lucas inflicted on Star Wars fans with his first two prequel films. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2018-02-05

2018

The central premise of The Cloverfield Paradox may have worked better as a Star Trek instalment, ironic given Abrams' involvement in both franchises. At least then we would have had some recognisable and charismatic characters to carry us through the techno-babble heavy plot. Review

3.0

List

Rate

2018-02-04

2018

The magnum opus of Perry's still relatively burgeoning career, Golden Exits is a film about ordinary people who don't really do anything, and watching their inaction is as beguiling as cinema gets. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2018-02-03

2018

When the pasty, sub J-horror ghouls aren't jumping out of nooks and crannies like the underpaid employees of a Halloween attraction, we're forced to endure snooze-inducing scenes in which Mirren makes up the plot as she goes along over cups of tea with Clarke, who looks like he's struggling to stay awake. I know how he feels, and so will you if you if you take a dose of this cinematic Xanax. Review

2.0

List

Rate

2018-02-02

2018

With Nightcrawler, Gilroy made a seamless transition from scriptwriter to director, arriving as a fully formed filmmaker. His followup however resembles exactly the sort of movie you might expect a screenwriter to make, an overwritten slog with flashy and distracting camerawork in place of effective visual storytelling. Gilroy has squandered a lot of talent on this project, not least his own. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2018-02-01

2018

Atching him carry a film on his own shoulders is enough to make up for The Hero's lack of stakes and reliance on clich├ęs. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2018-01-06

2018

The trouble with Ball's trilogy is that, despite being played by some very talented young stars, the central characters are a bunch of dullards, so it's impossible to emotionally invest in the dazzling sequences Ball constructs. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2018-01-05

2018

Structured as a series of short, snappy vignettes, which often play like three panel comic strips in their immediacy, Gerwig's film captures the superficial nature of teenage life, with all its transitory obsessions and relationships. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2018-01-04

2018

It might be the most brutally honest movie about romantic relationships to come out of mainstream American cinema since Eyes Wide Shut, but despite such a heady exploration of how awful people can be for each other, Phantom Thread is an undeniably romantic yarn, one which never judges its protagonists for their extreme behaviour towards each other, and ultimately it leaves us content in the knowledge that two difficult but fasci... Review

9.0

List

Rate

2018-01-03

2018

His fans will point to exquisite visual storytelling here that makes a mockery of the televisual blandness of most modern Hollywood productions. His critics will highlight the didactic speechifying and seeming lack of faith in the intelligence of his audience. Both are valid stances, but the former swings this one for me. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2018-01-02

2018

There's also a disparity in the quality of performances on view here, with the brilliance of O'Neill and Susan Lynch as a sociopathic gangster balanced by some amateurish supporting performances, a reminder that it's a film pulling from a limited talent pool. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2018-01-01

2018

White casts himself here as a Hollywood star living the dream in an expensive Hollywood home, which reminds the audience that while Brad's Status is telling us to appreciate what we have, its simplistic message is being delivered by someone who has more than most of us can ever dream of. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2017-12-12

2017

Masanobu Takayanagi's cinematography captures the American west in all its rugged glory, its natural beauty driving home the reasons men of opposing creeds would kill to own a piece of it. Hostiles is lumbered with too many issues for me to place it among the best of contemporary westerns, but it's certainly one of the most striking. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2017-12-11

2017

All the Money in the World is a win for octogenarian filmmaking. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2017-12-10

2017

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English