Movie reviews of Jeffrey Rex Bertelsen

These are all the movies and series that Jeffrey Rex has reviewed. Read more at: I'm Jeffrey Rex.

Similarity: unknown

Number of movie reviews: 347 / 347

Options

Poster for Apostle

Apostle

7.9

2018, Horror, Suspense

For those willing to accept that jump, the film becomes a glorious mess of intense violence presented with wicked camera movements.

2018.10.14

Poster for Venom

Venom

5.5

2018, Action, Crime, Science fiction

An inspired and crazy performance from Tom Hardy makes a below-average superhero film much more entertaining than it has any right to be.

2018.10.13

Poster for Private Life

Private Life

8.5

2018, Drama

The film is an unshowy and honest glimpse into the life of a married couple struggling with the defining feature of their marriage. I loved it.

2018.10.12

Poster for Hold the Dark

Hold the Dark

6.0

2018, Adventure, Drama, Suspense, Mystery

In spite of the film’s grizzly and chilling look, the sometimes fascinating film is, ultimately, borderline incoherent.

2018.10.11

Poster for First Reformed

First Reformed

10

2018, Drama, Suspense

A stunning masterpiece about an overwhelming crisis of faith with a conclusion that quite literally includes a true Hail Mary-moment in all its unfathomable glory.

2018.10.01

Poster for Jane Fonda in Five Acts

Jane Fonda in Five Acts

8.5

2018, Documentary

In spite of a curious, and not entirely convincing, structural thesis, Jane Fonda in Five Acts stands tall as a brutally honest documentary...

2018.09.30

Poster for Hell Fest

Hell Fest

5.0

2018, Horror

A missed opportunity as a slasher franchise-starter. Hell Fest doesn’t do enough with its concept, and, more than anything, it is extremely forgettable.

2018.09.29

Poster for Maniac

Maniac

8.3

2018, Drama, Comedy

A strong, but strange fall entertainment option that has moments showcasing both deep emotion and delightful curiosities.

2018.09.25

Poster for Thoroughbreds

Thoroughbreds

8.5

2018, Drama, Suspense

An interesting beast of a film.

2018.09.21

Poster for BlacKkKlansman

BlacKkKlansman

9.0

2018, Drama, Comedy, History, Crime

Lee masterfully juggles multiple threads and genres...

2018.09.21

Poster for The Predator

The Predator

5.0

2018, Horror, Action, Suspense, Science fiction

An action film stuck in the past with jokes that don’t land well anymore and a central movie monster that isn’t presented in a way that conjures up much excitement...

2018.09.19

Poster for The Nun

The Nun

4.5

2018, Horror, Suspense, Mystery

A disappointing spin-off, whose brand of entertainment is inconsistent with that of the established connected horror film franchise.

2018.09.12

Poster for Next Gen

Next Gen

6.5

2018, Adventure, Animation, Action

A predictable and extremely derivative animated film, but I did, admittedly, end up thinking that it was much more entertaining than it had any right to be.

2018.09.09

Poster for The Rider

The Rider

8.0

2017, Drama, Western

Quite simply, a confident and effective rodeo version of Aronofsky’s The Wrestler.

2018.09.07

Poster for Sharp Objects

Sharp Objects

10

2018, Drama, Crime, Mystery

This adaptation fully lived up to the promise and potential of the book...

2018.08.27

Poster for Disenchantment

Disenchantment

5.0

2018, Animation, Comedy

A lot of the humor, I felt, was too spelled out, so to speak, but I must admit that the show’s humor had its moments of brilliance.

2018.08.25

Poster for King in the Wilderness

King in the Wilderness

8.5

2018, Documentary

A moving and humanizing portrait of an overextended and pressured great man whose mission to save America’s soul is still relevant fifty years later.

2018.08.24

Poster for The Meg

The Meg

5.5

2018, Action, Suspense, Science fiction

Nothing more than an utterly forgettable immature shark film.

2018.08.21

Poster for Mission: Impossible - Fallout

Mission: Impossible - Fallout

9.5

2018, Adventure, Action, Suspense

An outstanding single-minded action-thriller, which successfully brings together the best elements of the previous films.

2018.08.21

Poster for To All the Boys I've Loved Before

To All the Boys I've Loved Before

7.0

2018, Comedy, Love

A predictable, but charming young adult romance film, which I didn’t think I would enjoy as much as I did.

2018.08.17

Poster for Morvern Callar

Morvern Callar

8.0

2003, Drama

An, at times, enigmatic, road movie fueled by its soundtrack, its memorable lead performance, and a fascinating premise.

2018.08.12

Poster for Like Father

Like Father

6.5

2018, Comedy

A mature dramedy with few cheap laughs, but strong performances that elevate the film.

2018.08.06

Poster for Robin Williams: Come Inside My Mind

Robin Williams: Come Inside My Mind

6.5

2018, Documentary

Although the documentary was disappointingly superficial, safe, and unambitious, it had plenty of love for its subject.

2018.07.18

Poster for Sicario: Day of the Soldado

Sicario: Day of the Soldado

5.0

2018, Drama, Action, Suspense, Crime

Although I do think it is both potentially harmful and a serious step down in quality, the film is mostly competently made...

2018.07.10

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English

Add to...

Go to your lists

Own review...

Review updated

Submit