Movie reviews of Jeffrey Rex Bertelsen

These are all the movies and series that Jeffrey Rex has reviewed. Read more at: I'm Jeffrey Rex.

Number of movie reviews: 795 / 795

Options

Black Adam is a moderately entertaining but, ultimately, quite generic and underdeveloped superhero origin story that fails to elevate the titular character to be anything more than just the next hero in line. Review

5.7

List

Rate

2022-10-24

2022

It’s too messy and the writing is too all over the place for me to be able to call it a good movie, but I will say that I kind of enjoyed it and that it is a marked improvement over Halloween Kills. Review

5.7

List

Rate

2022-10-21

2022

The score is sometimes overdramatic in moments that because of it now play unintentionally awkward, the editing and the direction are subpar, and the acting is often over-the-top and almost always unconvincing. Review

1.0

List

Rate

2022-10-14

2022

Werewolf By Night is a brisk and slight but very fun and entertaining hour of Marvel horror comedy. Review

7.9

List

Rate

2022-10-12

2022

It is a pretty great Stephen King premise, but in failing to add anything meaningful to it, or in failing to add some bold horror developments to it, I think writer-director John Lee Hancock fails the story. Review

5.5

List

Rate

2022-10-06

2022

It is very bleak, though, which makes it a little bit difficult to recommend to your average moviegoer. Still, I think Abbasi has done a really good job with this one. Review

8.5

List

Rate

2022-10-02

2022

It is an excellent satire of privilege that exposes faux-equality and individual worth, and, in moments, it is absolutely hysterical. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2022-09-27

2022

While missed potential is frustrating, a competently made ambitious mess is much more interesting than a forgettable safe film. Unfortunately, the behind-the-scenes drama ended up being much more interesting than what the film had in store for its audience. Review

5.9

List

Rate

2022-09-25

2022

It has some notable British stars, but the story is predictable, underwhelming, at times poorly executed, and ultimately the film is quite forgettable. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2022-09-18

2022

While all members of the cast look the part, none of them leave a strong impression performance-wise. The film, as a whole, is predictable and its inspirations are much too obvious. Review

3.0

List

Rate

2022-09-07

2022

It pains me to say that Barbara Rothenborg’s Kærlighed for Voksne is a cliched erotic thriller — which feels like a knockoff of better films in the genre — that I cannot recommend. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2022-08-28

2022

It is true that there are a lot of shows and films like this one, but I would definitely recommend it to those who are particularly interested in true crime adaptations. It’s solid! Review

8.3

List

Rate

2022-08-25

2022

Jordan Peele’s Nope may be the type of film that challenges your average moviegoer’s expectations, but, to me, Jordan Peele has knocked it out of the park again. Review

8.5

List

Rate

2022-08-21

2022

It needs intensity, great action, tension, and great creature effects. This film has all of that, as well as a revelatory performance from Amber Midthunder. Review

8.5

List

Rate

2022-08-08

2022

Ron Howard’s Thirteen Lives is a fine dramatization, but you’d be better off just watching The Rescue, a documentary that is simply much better. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2022-08-06

2022

I still thought this was a really good little coming-of-age show that, again, I think is perfect for Disney+. I just need a second season to focus more on the family, friends, and culture, but less on world-ending events. Review

7.5

List

Rate

2022-08-04

2022

The Russo Brothers’ The Gray Man is a fine but undeniably generic globetrotting action-thriller that is buoyed up immensely by its truly star-studded cast. Review

6.7

List

Rate

2022-07-28

2022

Cooper Raiff’s Cha Cha Real Smooth is a charming and very relatable late-coming-of-age film that features uniformly good performances. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-07-25

2022

In spite of the ending and the trite and cliched writing, the film mostly works because of John Cho and Mia Isaac’s convincing performances. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2022-07-16

2022

This fourth Thor film suffers from some pacing issues and tonal clashes, but if you liked Thor: Ragnarok, then I’m pretty sure you’ll also enjoy Thor: Love and Thunder, which, in short, is more of the same plus a genuinely creepy villain played by superhero movie royalty. Review

7.5

List

Rate

2022-07-07

2022

If Trier’s debut film was impressive, then his sophomore feature is, in a word, amazing. Oslo, 31. August is a near-masterpiece and one of the best Scandinavian films of its decade. Review

9.5

List

Rate

2022-06-30

2022

Joachim Trier’s feature-length debut is wildly impressive and outrageously good. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2022-06-30

2022

It is bloated, extravagant, exhausting, stylish, deliberately anachronistic, formulaic, and quite flattering to the King of Rock n’ Roll. If it sounds like a somewhat messy epic, it is because that is exactly what it is. But I can honestly say that I liked it. Review

7.9

List

Rate

2022-06-25

2022

Buoyed up and energized significantly by Chris Hemsworth’s charismatic performance, Joseph Kosinski’s Spiderhead isn’t the home run that his last film, Top Gun: Maverick, was, but it is a science-fiction film with a nice concept, a good soundtrack, and enough star-power to make it worth your while, even though it may not have as much to say as the first two acts suggest. Review

7.5

List

Rate

2022-06-18

2022

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English