Movie reviews of Filipe Freitas

These are all the movies and series that Filipe has reviewed. Read more at: Always Good Movies.

Number of movie reviews: 1921 / 1921

Options

Passion a manipulative murder story that is placed miles away from other thrilling works from the filmmaker’s past. Revealing to be ineffective and disappointing, I would skip this unnecessary remake. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2013-06-17

2013

When I think in its lack of pace, weighted delays, and excess of meticulousness, I see some limitations that could be easily avoided by shortening some long static shots and perhaps reduce the same grave silence used on every scene. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2013-06-16

2013

Call Me Kuchu was well edited by Katherine Fairfax Wright, using objective forms to express a complex matter, and making us realize that even the African vivid colors become pale with such limitations of the mind. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2013-06-15

2013

Actor Kresimir Mikic, almost a Croatian copy of Adrien Brody, wasn’t bad in his role, but in truth, this religious look at life's conception turned out to be messy and undistinguished in many aspects. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2013-06-14

2013

Despite pertinent in its vision, this third collaboration between helmer Hans-Christian Schmid and screenwriter Bernd Lange wasn't so satisfying, becoming an easily forgettable film. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2013-06-13

2013

The story’s limitation might not be a problem for the adventure genre fans, but failed to cause any surprising impact. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2013-06-12

2013

The confident performances were undoubtedly the best vehicle to convert this positive story in a worthy film. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2013-06-11

2013

Gulli became a sort of national hero and an enigma, as well as an inspiration for “The Deep”, a heartfelt film, which title certainly was inspired not only in the ocean’s immensity but also in what he felt during and after the tragedy. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2013-06-10

2013

Scott’s dependence on drugs became an important turning point on the couple’s rupture, but Liberace’s need of attention and appetence for younger boys, made us believe that no different ending would have been possible. An interesting biopic and a great piece of entertainment. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2013-06-09

2013

In my case, I found it an interesting story about anguish and sacrifice, which with a bit less theatrical tones and a bit more camera movement would have achieved better results. But certainly that won’t be an issue for Oliveira’s style supporters. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2013-06-08

2013

Showing a disconnected direction and tepid tones, Now You See Me comes in the same line of Christopher Nolan’s The Prestige or Neil Burger’s The Illusionist, but stays a few steps behind them, not guaranteeing a so rewarding experience. No illusions here! Review

4.0

List

Rate

2013-06-07

2013

With the boredom installed and several laughable scenes that were meant to be taken seriously, this is one of the worst films I’ve seen this year and a complete failure in terms of script, performances, and execution. Review

2.0

List

Rate

2013-06-06

2013

Cédric Kahn's direction was competent but not brilliant, in an actual and realistic movie that certainly works as an alert for the more ambitious, in times of economic crisis. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2013-06-05

2013

Alternating between peaceful silences and forced noises, with bucolic landscapes in background to compose the delicate cinematography, Either Way won my appreciation for all its simplicity. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2013-06-04

2013

Gimme The Loot has its slowdowns once in a while but has the merit of being so close to reality that sometimes I forgot I was watching a movie. Adam Leon has here a self-conscious debut as writer and director. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2013-06-03

2013

Found Memories is a sweet, melancholic, and rewarding piece of filmmaking, which didn’t need more than a few simplistic processes and passionate candidness to captivate. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2013-06-02

2013

This is a shallow study of a psychotic predator that can be compared to a terrible hangover caused by a few sour Bloody Maries! Review

4.0

List

Rate

2013-06-01

2013

As positive aspects we have: the eccentric and well-choreographed dances, and the costume designs, which fell short to create the intended emotional impact. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2013-05-31

2013

Baumbach’s choice for black-and-white didn’t bring major benefits, in a story that lacks tension in the conventional way that we are used to see, but conveys an attractive lightness and sweetness to depict a friendship that feels real. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2013-05-30

2013

The Best Offer proves a skillful Tornatore behind the cameras but in need of a more accurate and enthralling screenwriting. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2013-05-29

2013

Feminists may find it brave, but the brainless hunt depicted in Black Rock was incapable to catch, provoke, or intimidate, becoming a total waste of time. Review

3.0

List

Rate

2013-05-28

2013

This is a powerful example of non-manipulative cinema, where every character strives to be as close as possible of an intimate reality without forcing the situations. And they do that with amazing distinctiveness. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2013-05-27

2013

With a finger pointed to social-economical issues, I can say that this is a sort of chaotic mess that works fine, capturing all the heat and colors of a city that never stops. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2013-05-26

2013

Domestic showed dispersion on its characters’ delineation, leaving me in a state of apathy most of the time. This tale of life and death is nothing but a Noah’s ark condemned to sink. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2013-05-25

2013

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English