Movie reviews of Filipe Freitas

These are all the movies and series that Filipe has reviewed. Read more at: Always Good Movies.

Number of movie reviews: 1924 / 1924

Options

I was expecting more from this movie but it revealed to be a big disappointment since the beginning. Its special effects and some jokes were ok while the complex script was completely unlikely and dull. Review

3.0

List

Rate

2012-05-29

2012

Using intercalated images of war and post-war time, it revealed to be more depressing than informative by only showing another singular case of a man with particular taste for killing and whose life was wrecked by war. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2012-05-27

2012

Starting from a real case of murdering in Texas, Herzog conceives this superb documentary about death penalty. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2012-05-25

2012

In the first 30 minutes has shown some suspense and no idle moments but soon softened with the help of a repetitive oriental score throughout the film. I was pleased to know more about this woman but the movie didn't impress me. Worth watching taking into account the information provided. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2012-05-23

2012

Ferrara picks up the trend and releases a movie about the end of the world. The lull that most of the characters have shown was a bit hard to swallow. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2012-05-22

2012

The story despite being stereotyped and showing repeated wild action, turns out to engage, following the same path of Sverak’s previous works where fantasy, comedy and family entertainment are common. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2012-05-21

2012

Always concerned in shocking us somehow, this feature represents the eternal battle between good and evil wrapped in supernatural ambiguity. Bewildering but not original. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2012-05-18

2012

Despite this obvious arrangement, I would recommend it since it manages to be light and sensible within such a heavy subject as death. At the end you’ll feel comforted. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2012-05-17

2012

We can feel their pain even without overdramatic or sentimental scenes showing up. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2012-05-16

2012

Steven Soderbergh proves that a great cast doesn't always make a good movie. For me it looked like a baffled though unsalted espionage story with a bunch of karate strikes in order to look fancy. By embracing an overworked theme, Soderbergh took some risks but at the end not much is left to be remembered. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2012-05-15

2012

It simply shows us in a raw way how the things are, unfolding the pain underneath the actions and leaving us with a bitter taste in our mouths. An heavy experience. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2012-05-14

2012

Through a poignant humor and an uncanny style that gives particular attention to the image composition, he continues to fill the screens denouncing society issues and telling us that if you do the good you’ll be rewarded. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2012-05-11

2012

It touches on certain crucial issues concerning the clash between assumed gays and society. We are before an outspoken movie...simple but effective. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2012-05-10

2012

Their own personal problems are also a key factor and Kaye plays with it to manipulate our feelings. Demonstrating to be pretentious in many ways it has simultaneously the ability of grabbing some of our attention. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2012-05-09

2012

Despite all the information that passes through, it reveals to be a shallow movie. It would need more enthusiasm and rhythm to avoid to fall in banality. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2012-05-08

2012

A colombian childhood drama where the horrors of war are shared with the pleasures of playing soccer. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2012-05-07

2012

Although the strong performances and eminent tension involved, there were a few staged situations (including the end) which did not enhance the final result. Curious enough to worth a look regardless the final impression that could have been better explored. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2012-05-04

2012

This plot could be true and it is from here that comes its main strength. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2012-05-03

2012

Alrick Brown chooses not to emphasize the atrocities but the effort of some in doing good actions. However this is less challenging than Hotel Rwanda or Munyurangabo and as a consequence it stays a few steps below them. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2012-05-02

2012

It still remains a haunting film. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2012-05-01

2012

Sometimes ridicule, sometimes bold, the expressed skills weren’t enough to get on my mind. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2012-05-01

2012

A well made satire about ambition and obsession in a literate jewish family. With a confident direction and great moments of nervous tension we are before an odd, subtle and precise caricature of a father and son searching for recognition. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2012-03-27

2012

A boring and pretentious movie inspired by the 9/11 events. Review

3.0

List

Rate

2012-03-27

2012

A well cooked up dark tale though not so enthusiastic as expected. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2012-03-23

2012

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English