Movie reviews of Bob Mann

These are all the movies and series that Bob has reviewed. Read more at: One Mann's Movies.

Number of movie reviews: 726 / 726

Options

This is a class film to kick off 2023 with. Although a tough watch in places, the film is exquisitely crafted and is a love letter from Sam Mendes to the cinema of his (and my!) youth. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2023-01-04

2023

Kasi Lemmons delivers a solid, if not particularly exciting, biopic. Unfortunately, it won’t stay long in the memory. Without the creative flourishes of Bohemian Rhapsody or Rocketman, I found it all a bit linear and bland. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2023-01-01

2023

As a whimsical mystery adventure story, this movie had legs and I enjoyed it a lot. Well worth a watch. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-12-23

2022

As an adult, there wasn’t enough clever dialogue (e.g. ‘over the kid’s heads’ double entendres) to really entertain me. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2022-12-22

2022

Criticism that it is a “rinse and repeat” of the first film are not very fair, in my opinion: the story evolves in a different direction and becomes more personal and relationship based, which is a good thing. And I personally don’t think you can justifiably give an epic movie that looks THIS good on the big screen and deploys such fabulous technical film-making prowess less than 3 stars. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2022-12-20

2022

I know a lot of people love this film. And I thought it was OK, having its fun (albeit exceedingly grisly) moments. But I must admit to having come out disappointed. This was another case for me where the premise of the film, however sick, had great promise but the execution fell short of that potential. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2022-12-06

2022

I enjoyed this one a lot. I thought the fantasy elements were well done and the musical numbers extremely catchy and well-danced. It’s good and proper that it is an adjunct to, rather than a replacement of, the stage musical. But it succeeded in making me want to plan a trip up to London to see the show. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-12-05

2022

It did have its bumpy moments. But Spirited had a much improved second half. It grew on me, increasing from a 3* to a 3.5* by its uplifting end. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2022-12-04

2022

I really enjoyed this one. It had a gripping story, a solid script and a fine ensemble cast. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2022-12-02

2022

A disappointment. I saw this as the second in a double bill with Glass Onion, so perhaps my adrenaline from that film influenced my enjoyment of this one. Or maybe its just that Luca Guadagnino and I just don’t get on? Review

5.0

List

Rate

2022-11-30

2022

This is a terrifically enjoyable romp, with a fabulous ensemble cast and a wickedly clever and funny script. You even get the Beatles titular track over the end titles. What’s not to love? Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-11-29

2022

It’s another example of an attempt to dredge up new superhero characters from a franchise (in this case DC) to try to reinvigorate their market. And, with the draw of Dwayne Johnson it kinda works. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2022-11-24

2022

The Menu is a delicious black comedy that delightfully skewers the pretentiousness of fine dining. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2022-11-23

2022

From our afternoon showing, in a smaller, but almost fully packed, screen, this seems to be getting a lot of attention from the “silver haired” brigade. And it deserves that success. Life is for living. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2022-11-22

2022

This is at least a good Marvel film. Even with its extensive running time, it kept me engaged (albeit a bit fidgety at times). Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-11-21

2022

This tries for drama and comedy, but doesn’t really succeed in nailing either. It is certainly not an uplifting movie to get you in the Christmas spirit, so don’t put it on thinking it will be! Review

6.0

List

Rate

2022-11-20

2022

It passes the time, but it’s far from a 5-star classic for me... Review

5.0

List

Rate

2022-11-19

2022

It’s a quirky and interesting biopic of someone I knew nothing about. But while beautifully crafted, it doesn’t leave you feeling uplifted. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2022-11-18

2022

Val

This documentary shows some of that but also a softer side of a man maturing with age and life’s brickbats. But this is an intriguing documentary and a recommended watch... Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-11-15

2022

I love a film you enjoy that you had no expectations of. And this was one: a little gem of a thriller, well scripted and well cast with Rylance on top form. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-11-14

2022

Lame, shallow and unthrilling action horror. It’s pretty amazing that this (just) made its $12m budget back. I think they have a lot to thank Ms. Armstrong and that poster for. Review

3.0

List

Rate

2022-11-13

2022

It’s a bit of a horror-lite classic, and still manages to pack an entertaining punch. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2022-10-25

2022

What a marvellous film The Banshees of Inisherin is. Funny, poignant, intelligent, beautiful, Shakespearean and at times gut-wrenching. This is a film made by a true master of his craft. Review

10

List

Rate

2022-10-22

2022

I very rarely go below 2*s for a movie but this one I thought was a real stinker. What a sad way for a franchise to bow out. I really hope they ARE serious and this is the final film in the franchise. Review

3.0

List

Rate

2022-10-20

2022

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English