Movie reviews of Bob Mann

These are all the movies and series that Bob has reviewed. Read more at: One Mann's Movies.

Number of movie reviews: 754 / 754

Options

But that ending soured the Bilk (sic) and dragged me back from that position. It’s still a really interesting and engaging movie, and one I would recommend you see. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-01-20

2022

I found this slow and as a result a bit dull. It’s far from being the worst film I’ll see this year, but it will be short in my memory. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2022-01-18

2022

The movie is simply pitch-perfect in viewing Buddy’s confusion in moving from his idyllic childhood into the harsher realities of life in a tumultuous time and place in history. Branagh’s script sizzles with authenticity and contains the perfect balance of touching and laugh-out-loud moments. Review

10

List

Rate

2022-01-17

2022

Although I’m not a great horror fan, I thought this one was great fun. I had a goofy grin on my face for most of the running time. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-01-14

2022

It was a dreary rainy Tuesday night and the movie filled a need for a cosy night at the cinema. It wasn’t terrible. But it won’t win any awards either. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2022-01-12

2022

A rip-roaring ‘boys-own’ adventure, wrapped around real historical events in the 1910’s, this was a lot more fun than I thought it was going to be. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-01-10

2022

I can normally look for at least some good in any movie. But this one was really a waste of celluloid. Review

2.0

List

Rate

2022-01-07

2022

The stellar cast all give it their all (although I personally didn’t think that DiCaprio is quite as adept at this type of comedy as the other cast members). Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-01-05

2022

As a musical, it’s glorious to look at with great songs and spectacular, colourful dance numbers. And at times the virtuosity of the Spielberg/Kaminski combination makes some of the scenes simply soar. But did it fully absorb me for the whole of its nearly 160-minutes run time? No, not quite. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-01-04

2022

This was a genuine surprise of a movie for me. I thought it was moving, delightful, engaging, well-made and had great tunes. Highly recommended. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2022-01-01

2022

Just writing out the “Plot Summary” above made me gasp again at the crassness of this movie. It’s just so utterly nonsensical and distateful. Review

2.0

List

Rate

2021-12-31

2021

It’s popcorn nonsense. It won’t win any major awards. But it is extremely well done. I enjoyed it a lot. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-12-31

2021

A wonderfully entertaining Christmas blockbuster that is just the shot in the arm (no, not that sort) that the movie business needed. Great fun, and highly recommended. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2021-12-30

2021

And it has its moments for sure. But this is not a movie that I will be in a hurry to revisit, since the accents and some of the performances are not ones that I thought worthy of the potential that the movie had. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2021-12-02

2021

Kids who’ve had the original two films foisted on them by dewy-eyed parents/grandparents of a certain age will no doubt love this one, focusing as it does on more of a teen demographic that they can relate to. And it’s perfectly watchable. But it really didn’t set my movie world on fire the way that I hoped it might. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2021-11-19

2021

It’s the acting and the cinematography that sets this apart for me. Although it had its irritations, I found this to be a beautiful and engaging watch. The story is perhaps a tad predictable. But overall this is a nicely crafted and thought-provoking film that gets a thumbs up from me. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2021-11-18

2021

Most Marvel movies I will happily rewatch when they come on the box, but this one I’m not sure I’d have the strength to sit through again. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-11-16

2021

I really wasn’t expecting much from this, but I was pleasantly surprised. It’s a movie that has some memorable moments. At nearly 140 minutes I felt it outstayed its welcome by about 20 minutes. But otherwise I’d recommend you give it a try. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2021-11-14

2021

Thought-provoking and a memorable movie experience. Well recommended, if you’re willing to be challenged by a film. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-11-11

2021

The trailer promised a lot, but the movie delivered very little for me. It just all felt to me like an affront to the memory of Diana. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2021-11-10

2021

Highly recommended, if you are content to stomach some violent (and quite disturbing) horror imagery. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2021-11-08

2021

Sometimes a little movie appears that surprises and delights you, and this was one of those for me. It’s not big and it’s not clever. But it is very nicely made, thoroughly entertained me and was – for me – way better than its source movie. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-11-02

2021

This is a movie that MUST be seen on the big screen. It’s a memorable movie experience and highly recommended. Review

10

List

Rate

2021-10-19

2021

You’ll already judge from my balance of comments that this one just didn’t work for me. Even as a “park your brain at the door” action movie, I thought it felt lazy and lacklustre. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2021-10-16

2021

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English