Movie reviews of Bob Mann

These are all the movies and series that Bob has reviewed. Read more at: One Mann's Movies.

Number of movie reviews: 726 / 726

Options

Like The Father, this is a tough watch. I felt pretty well emotionally wrung-out by the end of it. But, it was well worth the wait in my book. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-06-24

2021

The shtick is mildly diverting, occasionally downright funny, but quickly outstays its welcome. The 100 minute run time felt, for me, much longer. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-06-22

2021

High octane and full of noise and colour, its a spectacular that doesn’t disappoint. The quirkiness of Crazy Rich Asians is on full display in some of the sequences, which are cleverly filmed. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-06-21

2021

Dementia is a cruel and heartless disease that robs any affected elderly person of their memories, logic and – ultimately – their dignity. I thought the movie was extremely clever in reflecting this decline, anchored by the astonishing career-best performance from Sir Anthony Hopkins. Review

10

List

Rate

2021-06-12

2021

Cruella is a blisteringly funny, gloriously colourful and hugely entertaining blockbuster. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2021-06-11

2021

An extraordinary story of ambition against all the odds... Review

6.0

List

Rate

2021-06-11

2021

It’s a pretty shallow plot…. but it’s also bloody good fun! Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-06-09

2021

This an intriguing little movie that mystifies and jolts in equal measure. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2021-05-29

2021

It’s still a rollercoaster thrill-ride that – at 97 minutes – doesn’t overstay its welcome. Sometimes ‘more of the same’ is enough. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2021-05-29

2021

Aside from the couple of decent scenes, most of the shots feel like first takes, with the actors doing read-throughs of the clunky script to try to work out how to best sell the lines. Review

3.0

List

Rate

2021-05-24

2021

There’s a stellar cast involved with this one, and the subject matter in the hands of an Adam McKay could have been compelling. But as it is, it’s rather a disjointed mess. It’s worth a watch just to see the actors at work. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2021-05-18

2021

An instant classic. It knocks you round the chops and forces your respect by being like no animated feature you’ve seen before. Witty, irreverent, gloriously entertaining it’s a no-brainer that this gets 5-stars from me. Review

10

List

Rate

2021-05-16

2021

The script by Ben Falcone is just eye-rollingly unfunny. Review

2.0

List

Rate

2021-05-09

2021

It sits on that ‘worthy-but-dull’ list, alongside “Lincoln” and “Moonlight“: Movies that I can fully appreciate for their artistry but not for their entertainment value. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-05-05

2021

I really like Sci-fi films, and particularly space-based sci-fi flicks. But this was all very “meh” for me. The premise was full of potential, but failed to deliver on much of it. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-04-30

2021

I just loved the simplicity of the story-telling in Minari. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2021-04-23

2021

Both of them deliver outstanding performances, and Kaluuya has already picked up the BAFTA. Kaluuya demonstrates a huge amount of energy and charisma, particularly during the delivery of his stirring speeches. But Stanfield delivers a superbly nuanced performance, and perhaps impressed me even more. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-04-21

2021

But one of my bellweathers for a movie is to think whether I’ll remember it in six months time. I’m afraid this one is unlikely to pass the test. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-04-21

2021

One of the reasons this movie is so good is because of Emerald Fennell. What a talent she is! Review

10

List

Rate

2021-04-20

2021

As a biopic, it comes across as jerky and spasmodic. It has moments of genius, particularly in some of the musical performances. But there are also spells where it fails to fully engage. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2021-04-16

2021

It’s pretty good and has more than the requisite half-dozen laugh-out-loud moments to merit being called a comedy. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-04-14

2021

Simply stunning and highly recommended... Review

10

List

Rate

2021-04-13

2021

Here, the emotional journeys of the key characters are well observed making the movie ‘highly recommended’. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-04-09

2021

The action that ensues is pleasing enough, without ever recharging my dilithium crystals. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2021-04-09

2021

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English