Movie reviews of Rick Swift

These are all the movies and series that Rick has reviewed. Read more at: Film Grouch.

Number of movie reviews: 110 / 110

Options

The Invisible Man was a convoluted mess of weak (and stupid) characters and probably the lamest script to come out of Blumhouse. Review

2.0

List

Rate

2020-03-28

2020

It’s basically Bright meets Sicario meets Heat. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2020-03-26

2020

Ultimately, it would be easy to find fault with this movie, but I choose to focus on the message rather than how it was delivered to me. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2020-02-24

2020

The Kid is a movie that can be easily bashed by critics and forgotten by many, because it does have a rushed feeling to it. I bet these people have never made a movie. My advice is to ignore the haters and enjoy this western about a famous lawbreaker who gets a chance at redemption in the final days of his life. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2020-02-14

2020

It’s rare that I say a film is flawless in execution. 1917 is a flawless film. Review

10

List

Rate

2020-02-05

2020

With Mother! he used the same basic formula, but he delivered the story in a way that kept me engaged and I completely felt for the goddess. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2020-01-16

2020

In the end, as I said before, you get what you expect with The Rise of Skywalker. The movie is the perfect gift to fans that have waited four decades for a conclusion to the Skywalker saga. Review

10

List

Rate

2019-12-20

2019

This is a movie for people who really want to connect with the men on the ground. And be warned, there is almost nothing left to the imagination. Review

10

List

Rate

2019-12-19

2019

Last Call will have you engaged with both characters, as you get new details about Scott and to a lessor extent, Beth. You will be disturbed with the details of Scott’s tragic story of loss and failure. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-11-24

2019

While the ending is coming at you like a trolley on a predictable track, the emotion isn’t sucked out of the payoff. It’s not an easy thing to accomplish as a filmmaker, where the audience can pretty much predict what is going to happen at the end, but how the story is told is what makes it such a fine film. Review

10

List

Rate

2019-11-22

2019

But, in spite of those gripes, I did like the film, for the most part. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2019-11-08

2019

This movie puts you in the pilot’s seat, and the gunner’s seat in a few scenes that will have you reaching for the imaginary stick and trying to pull out of several diving runs. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-11-07

2019

I don’t expect you to like A Young Man with High Potential, because it isn’t a fun movie, at all. But it is entertaining in its brilliant barbarity and what it says about how one lapse of character can change people’s lives forever. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-09-29

2019

That is a testament to Skarsgård’s powerful, chilling performance. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-09-13

2019

I enjoyed it quite a bit, for the stark contrasts throughout, as themes of good and evil, the balance of nature, the path to enlightenment and even a nod to the digital, intelligent design concept of creation which essentially breaks the universe down to a binary code. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-09-02

2019

If you want to see something truly original, Gyrus is that transformative work of art that will confound you and challenge you to look inside yourself for meaning. It is unlike anything you have ever seen in your life. And the digital effects are quite remarkable. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-08-12

2019

Watch the original. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2019-07-11

2019

Unnerving to the end, Midsommar gives us a glimpse into the darkest realms of co-dependence. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2019-07-10

2019

Jon Watts and his writers did a fantastic job keeping this film entertaining all the way from start to finish. Review

10

List

Rate

2019-07-02

2019

This one is nearly flawless in every way. Review

10

List

Rate

2019-06-18

2019

If you are into psychological suspense films, this one is an interesting and unique approach to the genre. While it has some flaws, it never bored me, because the Noel character was so unpredictable and even affably humorous at times. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2019-05-15

2019

Us

It just didn’t make any sense at all, and that’s a real shame for a movie that had such wonderful dialog, acting, and cinematography. It was not anywhere near as good as Get Out. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2019-03-24

2019

While this was a fun film, in segments, when you put it all together it just doesn’t click as well as the original. So, it’s not quite awesome, but it was far from terrible. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2019-02-08

2019

Is it a laugh fest? No, not really, but it was an endearing reminder that these two old friends loved each other very much and there’s nothing wrong with that. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-01-18

2019

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English