Movie reviews of David Gilleand

These are all the movies and series that David has reviewed. Read more at: Dave Examines Movies.

Similarity: unknown

Number of movie reviews: 90 / 90

Options

Poster for Inception

Inception

10

2010, Action, Suspense, Science fiction, Mystery

This is one of the best films I’ve ever seen, bar none.

2017.06.23

Poster for The Truman Show

The Truman Show

9.7

1998, Drama, Comedy

Not only is this a great simulated reality film, but it’s also one of my favorite Jim Carrey films.

2017.06.23

Poster for The Island

The Island

9.0

2005, Adventure, Action, Suspense, Science fiction

How well is its simulated reality? It’s okay.

2017.06.22

Poster for The Matrix Revolutions

The Matrix Revolutions

6.2

2003, Action, Science fiction

It still has all of the actors and the underlining story, but visually speaking, it really is a disappointment.

2017.06.21

Poster for The Matrix Reloaded

The Matrix Reloaded

9.4

2003, Action, Science fiction

It may not match the first from a discussion standpoint, but I really love this movie as well.

2017.06.20

Poster for The Matrix

The Matrix

10

1999, Action, Science fiction

Is it as good as I remember all around. Abso-frickin-lutely.

2017.06.19

Poster for The Grandmaster

The Grandmaster

8.7

2013, Drama, Action, History

The fights are amazing, the visuals are absolutely stunning, but the story and focus were where the film ultimately held weakness.

2017.06.16

Poster for Ip Man: The Final Fight

Ip Man: The Final Fight

4.4

2013, Drama, Action

Honestly, it was just more of a boring film.

2017.06.15

Poster for Ip Man 3

Ip Man 3

9.2

2015, Drama, Action, History

While I do consider Ip Man 3 to be wildly better than the second film, I do think it got a little over ambitious.

2017.06.14

Poster for Ip Man 2

Ip Man 2

8.0

2010, Drama, Action, History

I did enjoy the movie, and it still did a lot of things right once more, I just think it had a bit of trouble in the storytelling department this time around.

2017.06.13

Poster for Ip Man

Ip Man

9.5

2008, Drama, Action, History

Probably one of the most satisfying martial arts I’ve ever seen, period.

2017.06.12

Poster for Psycho IV: The Beginning

Psycho IV: The Beginning

6.1

1990, Horror, Suspense, Mystery

It sucked me in during some parts, but not nearly as much as the other films.

2017.06.09

Poster for Psycho III

Psycho III

5.4

1986, Horror, Suspense

They seem to be running out of steam, so nothing was really original here.

2017.06.08

Poster for Psycho II

Psycho II

8.4

1983, Horror, Suspense, Mystery

It actually feels like it belongs in the franchise...

2017.06.06

Poster for Psycho

Psycho

8.6

1960, Drama, Horror, Suspense

It really never gets old, given how much of a master storyteller Hitchcock was.

2017.06.05

Poster for Inspector Gadget

Inspector Gadget

8.2

1999, Adventure, Action, Comedy

This was a nostalgic dream come true.

2017.06.03

Poster for The Eagle

The Eagle

6.3

2011, Adventure, Drama

Jamie Bell did alright, but there was never any real push to give his role strong acting.

2017.06.02

Poster for Snowpiercer

Snowpiercer

8.6

2013, Drama, Action, Science fiction

I was indeed impressed by it, mostly because of everything that it actually did right (which is a lot).

2017.06.01

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English

Add to...

Go to your lists

Own review...

Review updated

Submit