Movie reviews of Ruth Maramis

These are all the movies and series that Ruth has reviewed. Read more at: FlixChatter.

Number of movie reviews: 521 / 521

Options

This film further proves that Spielberg’s still got it and he is truly a master filmmaker who can thrive in any genre. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-12-09

2021

This movie made me laugh and cry, it’s thought-provoking, funny, relatable and emotional, just what every movie should be! Review

9.0

List

Rate

2021-11-27

2021

Obsession, envy, jealousy are all themes explored throughout, but despite its provocative finale, it doesn’t quite mask its superficiality. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2021-11-27

2021

Overall this is a rousing, uplifting biopic with a terrific script and spot-on performances. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-11-18

2021

Now, I don’t expect every movie to be award-worthy, but even ‘brainless’ movies ought to still offer some kind of entertainment value, otherwise WHAT IS THE POINT?? Review

1.0

List

Rate

2021-11-15

2021

Overall I find BELFAST entertaining and heartfelt… with plenty of wit and humor to keep things from being too dour. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-11-12

2021

Hanks proves once again that he is such a charismatic actor that he could hold the audience’s interest all by himself. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-11-07

2021

It’s a truly charming, heartfelt indie film that proves once again that a good story and great performances can elevate a film no matter how small the budget. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-10-26

2021

Overall I’m impressed with what Villeneuve has done in bringing his vision of Dune to life. It’s more than just a feast for the eyes, but the narrative delivery offers something thrilling and thought-provoking. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-10-22

2021

As for Cumberbatch, though he’s played too many similar characters in his career, he’s still quite good in the role. In fact, he’s competent enough to rise above the uneven direction and still makes a compelling portrait of a true artist that you can’t help root for. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2021-10-20

2021

The filmmaker’s idea of reimagining the events in Prague as his inspiration for Don Giovanni perhaps sounds good on paper, but somehow it doesn’t turn out as compelling as it could have been. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-10-19

2021

The Last Duel is a competently-made film, but I couldn’t really give it high marks for the main issues I’ve mentioned, which I think detracts from the progressive female-empowerment theme. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2021-10-14

2021

Equity. Cohen and West’s direction paints a beautiful, moving portrait of an extraordinary life of someone who used her intellect and legal smarts for good, which still benefits many people to this day. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-10-11

2021

Unlike his predecessors, Craig’s Bond films shares a plot thread that connect them all, which is quite unprecedented for the franchise. Thus, while Craig’s tenure does not end in an all-time-high fashion, I can say that it’s a bold and memorable finale for a game-changing Bond era. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2021-10-04

2021

I find the story fascinating, but a bit indulgent in its adulation over its subject matter. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-09-26

2021

Tracee’s performance feels authentic in that you believe her as a bonafide music superstar, and Dakota brings Maggie’s own personal journey in a believable way. You could do much worse than a feel-good movie with likable characters and wonderful music. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2021-09-21

2021

As The Guilty proves, the minimalist approach can make a great impact when a shrewd script and superb performances meet. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-09-19

2021

I enjoyed the movie despite its uneven tone that veers more towards melodrama in the end. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2021-09-14

2021

I think Worth is a solid, poignant drama that’s carefully handled and wonderfully-acted. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2021-09-10

2021

It’s massively entertaining with dazzling action sequences + fight choreography, shot beautifully by Bill Pope. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-09-06

2021

The Lost Leonardo is proof just how riveting a good documentary can be. The production values is top notch as well, with beautiful cinematography by Adam Jandrup and evocative Italian-tinged music by Sveinung Nygaard. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-08-29

2021

I really want this one to be good so it’s disappointing that this turns out to be a largely forgettable affair. I’m not sure it even warrants a recommendation unless you’re a huge fan of the cast. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2021-08-26

2021

Despite its shortcomings and there are plenty, I still think it’s worth a look for all the MaggieQ’s action scenes alone. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-08-21

2021

Val

It felt like Val had directed this film himself, that it was his own voice telling his own story. Did I get to know him more after seeing this? Well yes and no. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2021-08-17

2021

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English