Movie reviews of Ruth Maramis

These are all the movies and series that Ruth has reviewed. Read more at: FlixChatter.

Similarity: unknown

Number of movie reviews: 73 / 73

Options

Poster for Hidden Figures

Hidden Figures

8.0

2016, Drama, History

An important film to be sure, but also a well-written and well-acted piece that’s as inspiring as it is entertaining.

2017.01.15

Poster for La La Land

La La Land

8.0

2016, Drama, Comedy, Love

Stylish and beautifully-shot, with a dreamy-like quality to it that sweeps your feet away.

2017.01.07

Poster for The Eagle Huntress

The Eagle Huntress

8.0

2016, Adventure, Documentary

The visuals will no doubt wow you, but it’s the adorable & charismatic Aisholpan who’ll run away with your heart.

2017.01.02

Poster for Passengers

Passengers

3.0

2016, Drama, Science fiction, Love

All the thought-provoking bits gets swept under the rug in lieu of a generic space action adventure.

2016.12.28

Poster for Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

8.0

2016, Adventure, Action, Science fiction

The cinematography by Greig Fraser is quite beautiful, complemented by the rousing score by Michael Giacchino.

2016.12.19

Poster for Hunt for the Wilderpeople

Hunt for the Wilderpeople

10

2016, Adventure, Drama, Comedy

It’s not just the funniest film of the year, but it ranks as one of the best comedies of all time.

2016.12.16

Poster for Allied

Allied

5.0

2016, Drama, Action, Suspense, Love, War

More style over substance… an elegant, sleek but utterly superficial affair.

2016.12.07

Poster for Arrival

Arrival

9.0

2016, Drama, Suspense, Science fiction, Mystery

A visceral and emotionally-complex film, I was engrossed from start to finish.

2016.12.02

Poster for Moonlight

Moonlight

10

2016, Drama

I was in awe by the poignant, elegant and graceful storytelling...

2016.11.28

Poster for Doctor Strange

Doctor Strange

6.0

2016, Adventure, Fantasy, Action, Science fiction

One of the weakest MCU movies so far...

2016.11.22

Poster for The Little Prince

The Little Prince

7.0

2015, Adventure, Fantasy, Animation

A technical/visual marvel, even if the film overall isn’t as breathtaking as I had hoped.

2016.11.21

Poster for Loving

Loving

9.0

2016, Drama, Love

The script, direction and performance all work beautifully to bring the Lovings’ story to life.

2016.11.21

Poster for Twinsburg

Twinsburg

8.0

2016

A quirky, funny yet bittersweet tale of coming to terms with how their childhood tradition no longer fits their changing adult lives.

2016.10.28

Poster for Prison Dogs

Prison Dogs

9.0

2016, Documentary

A joyful, inspiring and uplifting experience.

2016.10.24

Poster for My Scientology Movie

My Scientology Movie

7.0

2016, Documentary

Worth a look, an entertaining doc that’d make an intriguing discussion afterwards.

2016.10.22

Poster for In Pursuit of Silence

In Pursuit of Silence

8.0

2016, Documentary

I’m definitely glad I watched this and I think every citizen of the world should!

2016.10.21

Poster for Blood Stripe

Blood Stripe

9.0

2016, Suspense

I can’t recommend this one enough to anyone who loves war-themed films...

2016.10.20

Poster for The Accountant

The Accountant

6.0

2016, Drama, Suspense, Crime

Overall I feel that this movie has a lot of potential that’s not fully realized.

2016.10.18

Poster for Bridget Jones's Baby

Bridget Jones's Baby

7.0

2016, Comedy, Love

I laughed quite a bit watching this, so all things considered, this sequel is still riotously entertaining.

2016.10.14

Poster for The Magnificent Seven

The Magnificent Seven

8.0

2016, Adventure, Action, Western

The action and shootouts are what one would expect, peppered with humor and one liners, mostly from Pratt.

2016.10.10

Poster for The Girl on the Train

The Girl on the Train

6.0

2016, Drama, Suspense, Crime, Mystery, Love

It works more as a psychological drama than a taut whodunit murder mystery.

2016.10.08

Poster for Queen of Katwe

Queen of Katwe

8.0

2016, Drama

Mira Nair certainly has a gift for storytelling, as I was completely engrossed in the film despite its rather long running time.

2016.10.02

Poster for Captain Fantastic

Captain Fantastic

8.0

2016, Adventure, Drama, Comedy

Certainly one of the most eccentric films I’ve seen this year, both amusing and haunting, but definitely indelible.

2016.09.27

Poster for The Nice Guys

The Nice Guys

6.0

2016, Action, Comedy, Crime, Mystery

If you like this action comedy genre, it’s definitely worth a watch.

2016.09.26

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English

Add to...

Go to your lists

Own review...

Review updated

Submit