Movie reviews of Ruth Maramis

These are all the movies and series that Ruth has reviewed. Read more at: FlixChatter.

Number of movie reviews: 293 / 293

Options

There are plenty of films about the refugee experience, but LIMBO definitely stands out from the pack for its unusual wry approach. The film isn’t afraid to be melancholic without resorting to over-sentimentalism. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-05-08

2021

Well unfortunately this one proved to be utterly disappointing despite having the great Michael B. Jordan and other talented actors (Jamie Bell, Guy Pearce). Review

4.0

List

Rate

2021-05-01

2021

Emily Blunt and Jamie Dornan barely had any chemistry... Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-05-01

2021

It’s perhaps my favorite film from Thomas Vinterberg. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-05-01

2021

What a lovely story featuring one of the most amazing underwater cinematography ever… Review

9.0

List

Rate

2021-05-01

2021

Well, both are truly Oscar-worthy! Oh man, if only Viola won this year, she was incredible! I’m not overly fond of the film itself overall... Review

7.0

List

Rate

2021-05-01

2021

What a fascinating life, it just makes me love Betty White even more after watching this. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-05-01

2021

It’s a strange, surreal film about a man who live through several centuries, even becoming a woman! Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-05-01

2021

Another fascinating documentary about a subject I’m not familiar with, and what a perfect title! Review

6.0

List

Rate

2021-05-01

2021

It’s a fascinating subject about a handful of 70-80 year-old Italian men hunting for the rare and expensive white Alba truffle. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2021-05-01

2021

This dueling monsters flick was the first movie I watched in April. You know what, I didn’t hate it. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2021-05-01

2021

Kodachrome isn’t the greatest family drama out there, but still worth a watch for Harris’ performance that always elevates the material. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2021-04-18

2021

Overall, despite Pfeiffer’s delightful performance, this movie doesn’t really stick in my mind long after its closing credits. It’s as if the writer is only interested in making the characters bizarre for its own sake instead of people we can connect or relate to in a meaningful way. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-04-13

2021

Thank you, Tom Moore + co. for giving us nearly two hours of beautiful visual feast to escape to. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2021-04-10

2021

I’d say it’s worth a rent only if you’re a huge fan of the cast, but they’re way better in other films. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-04-05

2021

Overall I feel like the documentary feels a bit style-over-substance, which I can see why they did it given Audrey was such a style icon. Still I think the film was made with love and I’m glad it also highlights her remarkable life off-screen as a passionate humanitarian. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2021-04-03

2021

Just the cast alone is intriguing, but the movie is pretty weird and borderline bizarre at times, but the French scenery and costumes are wonderful! Review

6.0

List

Rate

2021-04-03

2021

All the actors portraying those historical figures did a terrific job here. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-04-03

2021

The darn thing is 4 hours long, if they can’t flesh out at least a single character in that time frame, then what the heck is the point?? Visually it’s just not a beautiful movie either, garish and overly morose. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-04-03

2021

It’s such a delightful, funny and quirky movie! Review

8.0

List

Rate

2021-04-03

2021

Started out promising and it tries hard to be edgy, but falls flat and overall a pretty boring, predictable movie with a weak ending. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2021-04-03

2021

It does highlight the history of Afro-Germans, but I think that story deserved a better film. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-04-03

2021

It’s a bizarre film and at times I have no idea where the filmmaker was going w/ it, but still worth a watch for La Pfeiffer’s elegantly-quirky performance. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2021-04-03

2021

Overall CRISIS is an engaging thriller that’s pretty easy to follow. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2021-03-21

2021

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English