Movie reviews of Ruth Maramis

These are all the movies and series that Ruth has reviewed. Read more at: FlixChatter.

Number of movie reviews: 521 / 521

Options

65

65 has lots of potential especially when they’ve got a bona fide lead in Adam Driver as the lead, but the lackluster direction and script made this one pretty underwhelming. The plethora of plot holes and head-scratching scenes don’t help either. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2023-03-15

2023

It’s a remarkable debut and a handsomely-mounted production despite the small indie budget. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2023-03-06

2023

It’s barely 1.5 hours long but it just went on forever, I was actually more interested in the ancient tales told during a few scenes at the dig. Such a waste of talent and an exotic location! Review

5.0

List

Rate

2023-03-02

2023

I didn’t realize the poverty and all the struggles before he finally got signed by the Rams, but it’s his love story with his wife Brenda that’s just as inspiring as his football journey. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2023-03-02

2023

I’d knock a half a point for Patrick Wilson‘s smugness that even John Bradley‘s humorous quips can’t save. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2023-03-02

2023

Everything about this is so clichéd and simply ludicrous it’s not even worth watching on a plane. It’s another drivel featuring Dwayne Johnson as another stolid, banal hero. Review

3.0

List

Rate

2023-03-02

2023

Love this beautiful, bittersweet love story during wartime. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2023-03-02

2023

The chemistry between LaKeith Stanfield and Issa Rae is swoon-worthy, but the story is just as intriguing. I love that the parallel love story of Rae’s mother told in flashback is equally beguiling, so you get TWO beautiful love stories in one movie. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2023-03-02

2023

Written and directed by Marie Kreutzer, this is a fictional account of one year in Sisi’s life, brilliantly portrayed by Vicky Krieps. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2023-03-02

2023

The true star is Mckenna Grace as the spirited young genius Mary, and veteran British thespian Lindsay Duncan classes up the whole thing as the antagonist of the story. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2023-03-02

2023

This is such a delightful and enjoyable movie through and through. Maurice is instantly likable so it was effortless to be fully invested in his journey. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2023-02-25

2023

The eerie surrealism is quite fun to watch but there are a few things that preclude this from being a remarkable film. The overall pacing is uneven with a sluggish second act. The plots are sadly ridden with clichés that, like Darren Aronofsky’s award-winning film, perpetuate the notion that ballet is creepy and filled with terror. That said, the film showcases Smith’s directing chops... Review

6.0

List

Rate

2023-02-23

2023

Quantumania is lackluster and quite exhausting to sit through that makes me think Marvel’s glory days might be behind us. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2023-02-17

2023

For a title as enchanting as She Is Love, I expected to be swept off my feet by a love story. Alas, it was not to be, everything feels too random and aimless despite the actors’ best efforts. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2023-02-08

2023

The ensemble cast are wonderful, nice to see James Purefoy in something cute and fluffy for a change. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2023-02-02

2023

I think the idea of combining Nan Goldin’s biopic of sort with the downfall of the Sackler family is an interesting approach but I’m not sure it worked well. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2023-02-02

2023

It’s definitely a slow-burn period mystery but I find it quite engrossing and surprisingly funny thanks to Harry Melling’s performance as young Poe. The cinematography by DP Masanobu Takayanagi is pretty stunning too! Review

7.0

List

Rate

2023-02-02

2023

It was enjoyable and the visuals are gorgeous, but I don’t think it’s as spectacular as I expected. Still it was fun to see the reunion of Antonio Banderas and Salma Hayek as the voice of Puss and Kitty. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2023-02-02

2023

Rolf Lassgård is hilarious as the title role and I love the tentative relationship with his Persian neighbor played by Bahar Pars. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2023-02-02

2023

I think the premise is a bit off the wall and apparently, the book was deemed unfilmable, so even Noah Baumbach just couldn’t make it work. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2023-02-02

2023

It’s got everything one would want in a neo-noir… it’s stylish, mysterious, heart-wrenching, and romantic, with a shocking finale I didn’t see coming. It’s also one of the best-looking films I’ve seen this year and one I’m keen on watching again one day. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2023-01-31

2023

Ishiguro’s script has such quiet grace and poignancy that makes you reflect on one’s own life and what we do with the finite time we’re given. Yes, there’s an element of predictability to the story, but Living is the kind of film that favors character development as we see the world through the protagonist’s eyes. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2023-01-23

2023

This is a restrained but unflinching human drama that I wish more people would check out. I sure hope to see more from miss Diop and the two performers at the center of the film. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2023-01-16

2023

It’s serviceable entertainment and at merely 1 hr and 47 minutes, it’s as efficient as it is thrilling. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2023-01-13

2023

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English