Movie reviews of Ruth Maramis

These are all the movies and series that Ruth has reviewed. Read more at: FlixChatter.

Number of movie reviews: 502 / 502

Options

I’m not saying the movie is devoid of fun and style, it certainly has those qualities, but it would’ve been much more palatable in 90 minutes or less. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2022-08-03

2022

The story is one that’s hard to shake and the cinematography is stunningly beautiful, which is appropriate considering the movie is a tribute to an acclaimed photographer. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2022-08-02

2022

It’s pretty enjoyable and Auli’i Cravalho did such a splendid job as Moana, and Dwayne Johnson is perfectly cast as a demigod. The visuals are absolutely gorgeous and the songs are memorable which are to be expected from the Mouse house, definitely one of the best Disney animated features. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-08-02

2022

A cute and frothy movie about following one’s dreams that’s pleasant to watch for the whole family. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2022-08-02

2022

It’s a much more introspective and thought-provoking film that’s more than meets the eye. I also commend Novak for crafting a twisty finale that I didn’t see coming and for crafting a satisfying arc for his character. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-07-31

2022

Mrs Harris Goes to Paris may seem frivolous the way people think about fashion. But this feel-good movie has some deeper values about a woman being true to herself and that her kindness has the power to change others’ lives. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-07-29

2022

It’s disappointing to see such a daft, unimaginative movie from the Russos who managed to redefine what it means to be a hero in the spectacular espionage thriller The Winter Soldier. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2022-07-26

2022

Calamy won the Best Actress César Award for her performance here and I hope that’ll lead to more film roles for her in the future. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-07-22

2022

The only high marks I can give the movie is the beautiful cinematography and the gorgeous shooting location in Bath which is where the story is set in. Review

2.0

List

Rate

2022-07-20

2022

I commend the creators for delivering such a thought-provoking story with a wonderful spectacle that kids and adults can enjoy and mull over. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-07-12

2022

I’m so glad I finally got to see this inspiring historical drama that highlights the untold story of three phenomenal women who made an impact in WWII. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-07-10

2022

It’s a better, more entertaining movie than the last MCU outing Doctor Strange and the Multitude of Madness, but not by much. That is disappointing as I had hoped it would be vastly superior. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2022-07-08

2022

Despite my quibbles, I am glad that I saw this on the big screen. Mr. Malcolm’s List has plenty to offer to period drama fans and seeing it with my best friend who loves this genre as much as I did is especially delightful. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2022-07-05

2022

It has its moments but it’s not a terribly engaging movie. It was still worth a watch, featuring a young Timothée Chalamet a year before his career-changing role in Call Me By Your Name. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2022-07-02

2022

I quite enjoyed it despite not knowing much about poker. The script is sharp and engaging, Chastain is magnetic and it’s always great seeing Idris Elba on screen as her attorney. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2022-07-02

2022

The second movie is just as intense though I’m not sure it’s as effective as the first. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-07-02

2022

I don’t think this one is worth the hype compared to CODA in terms of its writing however, while it’s pretty enjoyable, it doesn’t leave a lasting impression on me. That said, it’s well worth a watch and I’m curious what Raiff will do next. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2022-06-30

2022

Elvis may not get the chance to make A Star Is Born, but a star IS born with Austin Butler playing Elvis. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2022-06-24

2022

It’s even rarer that the script, direction, and performances all mesh so well together in a light, breezy 1 hour 37 minutes! Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-06-21

2022

Lightyear feels more Disney than Pixar, and it reeks ‘lucrative IP milking’ rather than making something from the heart. I wouldn’t go so far as calling Lightyear a misfire, but definitely doesn’t soar to infinity, let alone beyond. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2022-06-17

2022

Nick and Brooke end up learning from each other over the course of the night, and the tentative romance between them feels earnest. The gorgeous Manhattan backdrop certainly adds to the charm. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2022-06-13

2022

The Valet is a quintessential crowd-pleaser and feel-good movie that’s genuinely heartfelt and funny. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-06-13

2022

In short, gone is the sense of wonder that began 29 years ago, what’s left is doldrums and dread of seeing a once-fascinating IP become so, so insipid. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2022-06-09

2022

Top Gun: Maverick delivers the spectacle and thrills it promises… deftly mixing unapologetic nostalgia and stimulating action that should satisfy fans of the original and win new ones. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2022-05-26

2022

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English