Movie reviews of Jeffrey Rex Bertelsen

These are all the movies and series that Jeffrey Rex has reviewed. Read more at: I'm Jeffrey Rex.

Number of movie reviews: 507 / 507

Options

Poster for Reservoir Dogs

Reservoir Dogs

9.5

Ultimately, Reservoir Dogs, Quentin Tarantino’s directorial debut, is a simple but violent and clever film. It is a gripping crime drama with witty but profanely punchy distinctive dialogue.

16 august

16 aug

Poster for Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark

7.5

Biggest strength of the film are the creatures, creature effects, and scary story sequences in which Sarah Bellows’ stories come alive.

10 august

10 aug

Poster for The Kid

The Kid

6.7

I can’t escape the fact that it feels rushed and incomplete. Something is missing in The Kid, D’Onofrio’s first western as a director. But, ultimately, I dug enough of what he brought to the film to be able to recommend the film to fans of the genre as a well-shot and entertaining Old West tale of domestic violence, lawlessness, and revenge.

4 august

4 aug

Poster for Cold Case Hammarskjöld

Cold Case Hammarskjöld

8.8

I’m not sure if it is too ‘incredible’ to be true. But, as a film, it is too thrilling, captivating, damning, terrifying, and astonishing to miss or dismiss.

17 july

17 jul

Poster for Midsommar

Midsommar

9

Midsommar is a bizarre and surprisingly funny daytime folk horror film about grief and relationship drama complete with ‘shrooms, brightly colored flowers that breathe and sway, and a brilliant leading performance.

12 july

12 jul

Poster for Replicas

Replicas

2

Replicas is a trite, overlong, unintentionally funny, and badly designed science-fiction film that includes dated visual effects and horrendous performances.

2019.07.08

2019

Poster for The Lego Movie 2: The Second Part

The Lego Movie 2: The Second Part

7

It’s a fairly good but undeniably underwhelming sequel that, even when I enjoyed it, made me question the lifespan of these films.

2019.07.07

2019

Spider-Man: Far from Home

8.5

Far From Home earns great laughs, features great action as well as a message about deception and gullibility that is perfect for our time and the characters that the film makes use of and, in one case, perfects.

2019.07.03

2019

Poster for Annabelle Comes Home

Annabelle Comes Home

7

Annabelle Comes Home certainly tests your patience. But I must say that I had a lot of fun with the gimmicky, funhouse concept of the simple but playful and promising Annabelle Comes Home...

2019.06.30

2019

Poster for Yesterday

Yesterday

7

While it may not be as ambitious as it could’ve been, Danny Boyle’s simple but irresistible and winning ‘what-if’ film Yesterday will charm your socks off eight days a week.

2019.06.30

2019

Poster for Murder Mystery

Murder Mystery

5

I doubt that there is anything of value that I’ll remember this Netflix film for, even though it might be the most watchable of Sandler’s made-for-Netflix comedies.

2019.06.24

2019

Poster for Booksmart

Booksmart

9

Booksmart deserves to stand the test of time and become a go-to female friendship-film in the vein of Mean Girls and Bridesmaids, and it deserves to become as iconic of a cultural milestone as American Pie or Superbad were to their target audience’s generations. Hopefully, time will be kind to this wonderful coming-of-age comedy.

2019.06.24

2019

Poster for When They See Us

When They See Us

9.1

It isn’t just a history lesson, it is an outstanding must-watch television show.

2019.06.20

2019

Poster for How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World

8

Though the trilogy-capper is probably the weakest of the three films, I am of the opinion that Dean DeBlois’ How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World stuck the landing as it gave its audience a bittersweet but incredibly moving conclusion to one of the best animated film trilogies ever made.

2019.06.16

2019

Poster for How to Train Your Dragon 2

How to Train Your Dragon 2

8.5

This sequel is leaps and bounds more ambitious than the wonderful first film. However, I do have some noteworthy problems with the writing and pacing of the film, so I cannot quite say it improves completely on the first film.

2019.06.16

2019

Poster for How to Train Your Dragon

How to Train Your Dragon

8.8

It is a heartwarming and charming ‘a boy and his dog’-film that tells a wonderful and truly thrilling story about family and understanding.

2019.06.16

2019

Poster for Always Be My Maybe

Always Be My Maybe

6

I do think many of the jokes in Khan’s film are unfunny, I think the film is built on faulty chemistry, and I think the third act relies almost entirely on contrived drama. Ultimately, however, I am of the opinion that the shot of energy that the stunt casting provides the film with is enough for me to, albeit hesitantly, recommend Always Be My Maybe...

2019.06.13

2019

Poster for Dark Phoenix

Dark Phoenix

4.5

It is a joyless, apathetic, and bland X-Men film. It moves impatiently without actually setting up the events, or explaining them, properly.

2019.06.10

2019

Poster for Chernobyl

Chernobyl

10

Chernobyl is a haunting history lesson. It is a harrowing true story about an event shrouded in controversy and once in secrecy.

2019.06.09

2019

Godzilla: King of the Monsters

5.5

Godzilla II: King of the Monsters is a spectacularly big, but really dumb and overlong monster movie so if that is exactly what you want from these types of films, then you’ve got a big kaiju-movie meal to go through.

2019.06.05

2019

Poster for Under the Silver Lake

Under the Silver Lake

8

I thought it was genuinely scary in spurts and gripping from start to finish even if it may be incomprehensible at some points. It may not ultimately be all that satisfying as an unwieldy mystery, the protagonist, who, I contend, the film clearly scolds, may be unpleasant, but I dug what Mitchell was going for with his third film as a director.

2019.06.02

2019

Poster for Game of Thrones: The Last Watch

Game of Thrones: The Last Watch

5.9

While I appreciate what Game of Thrones: The Last Watch represents right now, I do think it is inessential and unfocused even if it is momentarily moving.

2019.05.31

2019

Poster for Rocketman

Rocketman

8.5

Egerton is outstanding in what is probably his finest, most nuanced and most detailed performance to date.

2019.05.30

2019

Poster for The Wandering Earth

The Wandering Earth

4.5

Oddly structured but fast-paced and, at times, gorgeous, Frant Gwo’s The Wandering Earth is a spectacular blockbuster disaster film that could make Roland Emmerich jealous.

2019.05.15

2019

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English

Add to...

Go to your lists

Own review...

Review updated

Submit