Movie reviews of David Whitley

These are all the movies and series that David has reviewed. Read more at: DoubleFeaturePreachers.

Number of movie reviews: 514 / 514

Options

Beauty Queen

6.7

All in all, I thought this one was pretty good, despite the technical difficulties.

2018.12.13

2018

Poster for I Kill Giants

I Kill Giants

5

About what you’d expect.

2018.12.11

2018

Poster for The Strangers: Prey at Night

The Strangers: Prey at Night

2.5

An example of an homage that adds little else to the picture or story.

2018.11.27

2018

Poster for Grave of the Fireflies

Grave of the Fireflies

10

Devastatingly real and tragic, this story shows the hidden cost of war.

2018.11.27

2018

Hold the Dark

5.8

Bleak and powerful, but lacking in execution of overall story despite strong individual moments and performances.

2018.11.20

2018

Urban Myth: Nest

10

I’m not going to spoil any of the twist but I will say it hits like a hammer to the head. I loved this film, it was the best one of the night.

2018.11.08

2018

Something in the Darkness

4.2

The film just doesn’t seem to have much going for it, and it gives away everything that’s going to happen far too quickly.

2018.11.08

2018

The Candlelight Witch

7.5

This film, though a bit reliant on jump scares, has one of the best spooks of the night. It’s some great effects and great make-up to make the Candlelight Witch too.

2018.11.08

2018

Post Mortem Mary

9.1

Oh my the scares. Long has perfect timing, allowing the camera to linger just long enough that you focus on the wrong thing.

2018.11.08

2018

The Whistler

5

I think if the film was dragged out, we might get a halfway decent horror film out of it.

2018.11.08

2018

The Exam

5

Technically, it’s a very polished film, but otherwise, I didn’t find anything about this that was overly above average.

2018.11.08

2018

Who Decides

7.5

This short is simple and to the point, and I like that. I especially liked the performances between the two actresses Jenny O’Hara and Addison Eckert.

2018.11.08

2018

Rainmaker

7.5

I really loved Cronyn’s performance. She was one of the clear highlights of the short, with her performance ranging all over the emotional map without missing a beat.

2018.11.08

2018

Cabin Killer

9.1

It’s a lot of fun, while still managing to have enough vestiges of horror that you get a chill or two.

2018.11.08

2018

Relax, It's Probably Just a Parasite

3.3

It’s an almost experimental piece. I don’t necessarily understand the connection between the words and the animation – in the end, I would have rather lived without the words.

2018.11.08

2018

And the Baby Screamed

6.7

I liked the effects, and I liked the way it slowly built to the climatic moment.

2018.11.08

2018

Poster for In the Aisles

In the Aisles

10

I thought it was sweet and hit all the right notes. The acting is tremendous, particularly from Peter Kurth, who was my favorite character.

2018.11.08

2018

The Last Fiction

7.5

The film is really fun, despite its slightly predictive plot. There’s something to be said about diving into a plot that is simply good versus bad.

2018.11.06

2018

In the Wake of Ire

7.5

Overcomes some iffy dialogue to become an affecting emotional piece.

2018.11.03

2018

Poster for Jupiter's Moon

Jupiter's Moon

5.8

Social commentary mixed up with a Syrian superhero leads to a mixed bag.

2018.11.02

2018

Poster for Good Manners

Good Manners

8.3

Beautiful and strange, this movie could be split into two equal parts.

2018.11.02

2018

Poster for Jaws

Jaws

10

Perfect thrill setting, unforgettable characters, and great pacing lead to a wonderful film experience.

2018.10.29

2018

Poster for A Dark Song

A Dark Song

6.7

Dark and twisty inside, but fumbles the ending a bit.

2018.10.22

2018

Poster for Pyewacket

Pyewacket

7.5

A fun twist on the normal exorcism story, with some real fear built in.

2018.10.22

2018

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English

Add to...

Go to your lists

Own review...

Review updated

Submit