Movie reviews of Bob Mann

These are all the movies and series that Bob has reviewed. Read more at: One Mann's Movies.

Number of movie reviews: 728 / 728

Options

I found it a non-standard journey requiring a level of intelligence to appreciate the nuances of the script. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-01-27

2019

My view would be that it’s worth seeing for its epic spectacle, but it’s not a film I will be rushing to see again. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2019-01-26

2019

The film is amusing and harmless without taxing many brain cells. Most notably unlike many so-called American ‘comedies’ it did actually make me laugh at multiple points. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2019-01-26

2019

As a standalone film it has some laugh-out-loud moments, some feelgood highs and some moments of real pathos. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-01-18

2019

One of the most thought-provoking films that I am likely to see this year, and I was fascinated from beginning to (final) end. Review

10

List

Rate

2019-01-18

2019

The film’s perfectly watchable, has great acting, but is a little bit of a non-event. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2019-01-11

2019

I don’t bandy the word “masterpiece” around often, but in this case I think it’s justified. Review

10

List

Rate

2019-01-06

2019

Aside from Knightley, the other star turn in the film comes from cinematographer Giles Nuttgens. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2019-01-04

2019

I’ve praised the screenplay for its reserve and intelligence, but on the flip-side there are a number of elements that don’t sit well... Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-01-03

2019

Frank Marshall directs, and with a pretty impossible task he delivers an end-product that, while it didn’t completely thrill me, did well not to trash my delicate hopes and dreams either. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2019-01-02

2019

It’s a long way from being the worse film I’ve seen this year by a long stroke – it kept me interested and amused in equal measure for the running time. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2018-12-23

2018

It’s one of those pleasant and untaxing cinema experiences that older audiences in particular will really enjoy. However, the film’s far from perfect in my view... Review

8.0

List

Rate

2018-12-22

2018

Above all, it is the acting performances that make this film, and the four key cast members all turn in memorable turns. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2018-12-13

2018

Special effects alone do not a great film make. If you analyse the film overall, virtually NOTHING of importance actually happens... Review

4.0

List

Rate

2018-12-10

2018

Above all, it’s a film with genuine heart. A story that lifts the spirit and paints onto the screen in technicolour glory the struggle (albeit you feel a rather sanitised one) that lifted America out of the dark ages in terms of equality. Review

10

List

Rate

2018-12-05

2018

So, the movie has its moments and is great to look at. But the film ends up a sandwich or two short of a smorgasbord, thanks largely to some totally bonkers plot points and more than a few ridiculous coincidences. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2018-11-23

2018

I wasn’t expecting to enjoy this one much, but I did. Prinicipally because it is such a visual feast and worth going to see just for that alone. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2018-11-12

2018

The results are outstanding. Review

10

List

Rate

2018-11-11

2018

I loved this as an intelligent action movie that’s a cut above the rest. Review

10

List

Rate

2018-11-10

2018

There is no nuance or subtlety to either the writing or the direction. I think that’s a great shame. The film has a good premise hidden in there. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2018-11-08

2018

This is a film that grabs you and propels you through the story at a fast lick. It’s a surprisingly moving story, with a well-known and tragic finale. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2018-11-01

2018

Although having a wonderfully retro feel and despite mining every horror cliché known to man it’s all obviously been done with loving care by the director David Gordon Green. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2018-10-30

2018

It’s a watchable TV film for a rainy afternoon, but not worth heading out to the cinema to watch. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2018-10-28

2018

It’s an entertaining delight, full of twists, turns, deliciously wordy dialogue and a satisfyingly open ending. Review

10

List

Rate

2018-10-27

2018

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English