Movie reviews of Bob Mann

These are all the movies and series that Bob has reviewed. Read more at: One Mann's Movies.

Number of movie reviews: 248 / 248

Options

This is a small but beautifully crafted film that kept me enthralled. I’m not sure it necessarily needed the bees but as a simple tale of prejudice in a small community it was well told and delivered the goods. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-07-16

2019

This is a film that deserves to be seen at the cinema, and on as big a screen as you can manage to find. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2019-07-10

2019

And the film delights with its modern day recreations of the classic tracks and, as already mentioned, Himesh Patel belts them out wonderfully. Review

10

List

Rate

2019-06-21

2019

I found this an interesting story, but the ending a bit of a damp squib. What might have been barn-storming finale just ends up as a barn-dripping one (arf!). Review

7.0

List

Rate

2019-06-19

2019

My recommendation would be to skip this one, and catch one of the originals on streaming somewhere. Review

3.0

List

Rate

2019-06-16

2019

It’s a solid and entertaining night out at the movies: seeing Dame Emma Thompson strutting her stuff is good value for any movie dollar. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-06-16

2019

It’s a perfectly fun way to spend a couple of hours at the cinema, and for kids, particularly those without the reference of the Disney original, will probably love it. Review

6.0

List

Rate

2019-06-11

2019

It’s not quite perfection: for me, its story stretches credibility in some places. But it still deserves to be a big hit. I think it will be. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2019-06-11

2019

How long will it be before I see another music biopic this good? I think it’s gonna be a long long time… Review

10

List

Rate

2019-06-08

2019

Overall, this is not a truly terrible movie as a piece of popcorn escape entertainment, but it really could and should have been a whole lot sharper. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2019-06-06

2019

Us

This film had me gripped until a particular point. Review

4.0

List

Rate

2019-05-05

2019

But as a cinematic spectacle, for me, it delivered on its billing as a blockbuster finale, but one filled with a degree of nuance I was not expecting. Review

9.0

List

Rate

2019-05-03

2019

Although possibly causing offence to some, this is a fine example of a US comedy that delivers consistent laughs. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-04-30

2019

It’s clearly been a long overdue hit for DC, and on the whole I enjoyed it. If the film had been a bit tighter, this would have had the potential to be a classic. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2019-04-17

2019

As long as you don’t ABSOLUTELY LOATHE it, I predict you’ll tolerate the tunes and enjoy the movie. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2019-04-03

2019

It didn’t make a big dent in the awards nominations. But for fans of quirky romantic comedies it’s a recommended watch. It’s really difficult to dislike! Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-03-16

2019

It’s a perfectly pleasant way to spend a couple of hours. The story is intriguing enough to keep your interest, although it plays its hand so early that the simmering suspense element ebbs out of the film. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2019-02-27

2019

It’s well worth catching: a tale that almost defies belief. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-02-26

2019

It’s a movie that has its moments, but I would personally wait for a (VERY) rainy afternoon and catch it on streaming. Review

5.0

List

Rate

2019-02-22

2019

It’s a big, brash, loud CGI-stuffed adventure, but well done and visually appealing. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2019-02-20

2019

The reason to see this film is the tremendous double-act between McCarthy and Grant which is just magic. Both have been lauded with nominations during awards season, and both are richly deserved. Review

8.0

List

Rate

2019-02-18

2019

There are the makings of a good film in here, and the blending of the three characters into a narrative is a cute idea. But it’s a film that left me feeling generally unsatisfied with its story arc... Review

5.0

List

Rate

2019-02-07

2019

If you can park your moral compass for a few hours then its an enjoyable film of drug-running and redemption. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2019-02-03

2019

The film is well-made and the cast is very engaging. It also has a love story at its heart that is moody but well-done. Overall though the movie felt over-engineered and a little pretentious, and that knocked it down a few pegs for me. Review

7.0

List

Rate

2019-01-31

2019

What is Veboli?

Veboli provides personal movie advice, so you can easily choose the right movie to watch. Learn more

Stay up to date?

Read the Veboli blog

Instagram
Instagram
LinkedIn
Twitter

Got a question?

Send us a message

English